LibGuides: Archaeology: Background Information

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Online
Print

Use this selection of online encyclopedias and dictionaries to find background information, overviews and key resources from articles' bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Brief overview articles with in depth biibliographies, providing an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research or working on comps.
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.
Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive modern reference work for the ancient world. Entries offer easy, direct access to basic information - names, places, dates, objects — from all areas of Greek and Roman culture as well as their predecessors, neighbors and heirs... [T]he chronological scope of the 'Antiquity' volumes of the NEW PAULY ranges from the 'Aegean Koine' (middle of the 2nd millennium BC) to the formation of early medieval Europe (AD 600 to 800).”
Comprehensive modern reference work for the ancient world. Entries offer easy, direct access to basic information - names, places, dates, objects — from all areas of Greek and Roman culture as well as their predecessors, neighbors and heirs... [T]he chronological scope of the 'Antiquity' volumes of the NEW PAULY ranges from the 'Aegean Koine' (middle of the 2nd millennium BC) to the formation of early medieval Europe (AD 600 to 800).”

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.

Oxford classical dictionary, 4th edition by Hornblower and Spawforth
Call Number: DE 5 O9 2012
ISBN: 9780199545568
Publication Date: 2012
The encyclopedia of ancient history by Bagnall et al / Wiley
ISBN: 1444338382
Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by Michael Gagarin; Elaine Fantham
ISBN: 9780195388398
Publication Date: 2010-01-01

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
100s of Encyclopedias and dictionaries with extensive and brief articles on all different topics.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Cambridge Ancient History, Cambridge Prehistory of the Bronze and Iron Age Mediterranean, Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Warfare, Cambridge History of Egypt, Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Political Thought, Cambridge History of Literature: Greek and Latin, and others.
Updated regularly. Provides instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. All the available volumes are grouped into broad topics for quick and easy browsing (see the list below), or the entire series can be searched using the basic or advanced search features. Specific histories consist of either one volume or a numered series and cover all major regions of the world (i.e. Cambridge History of Africa, Cambridge History of Latin America).

Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology by Claire Smith (Editor-In-Chief) Springer: This second edition of the multi-volume work goes beyond the comprehensive and systematic coverage of archaeology that appears in the first edition. The field of archaeology continues to grow and the collaborations between archaeologists and researchers in other areas - environmental studies, landscape studies, art history, demography, biomedicine, chemistry, museum specialists, etc. - continues to grow. This second edition will build on the massive collection of information and research from the first edition by adding new entries as well as updating the existing entries. The entries in this encyclopedia range from succinct summaries of specific sites and the scientific aspects of archaeological enquiry to detailed discussions of archaeological concepts, theories and methods, and from investigations into the social, ethical and political dimensions of archaeological practice to biographies of leading archaeologists from throughout the world. The different forms of archaeology are explored, along with the techniques used for each and the challenges, concerns and issues that face archaeologists today. This compendium is both a print reference and an online reference work. One of the encyclopedia's major innovations is that it harnesses the capabilities of an online environment, enhancing both the presentation and dissemination of information. Most particularly, the continuous updating allowed by an online environment should ensure that the Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology is a definitive reference work for archaeology and archaeologists.  
ISBN: 303030017X
Publication Date: Springer: 2020-10-27

Use this selection of print encyclopedias and dictionaries to find background information, overviews and key resources from bibliographies. Some are duplicated online; some are print only.