Starting in 2010 (when the Society Of Archivists merged with the National Council On Archives and the ACALG), the ARA is the leading body for archives in the United Kingdom and the Republic Of Ireland and works to promote the care and preservation of archives and the better administration of repositories. There are currently about 2,000 members.
Starting in 1979, the ARI promotes discussion of matters of particular concern to archivists in religious institutions and agencies. Membership includes many who are "lone arrangers" and from small-scale archival repositories.
Formerly: Association Of Records Managers And Administrators
Starting in 1955, ARMA International is a nonprofit international professional association of records managers that promotes standards and guidelines. There are 27,000 members in over 30 countries.
Starting in 1975, the ACA is a nonprofit association that represents over 600 Canadian archivists that work to provide the archival profession leadership and to facilitate an understanding and appreciation of Canada's archival heritage.
Starting in 1990, the AMIA is a nonprofit international association dedicated to the preservation and use of moving image media. Three Texas archives are listed in their resource directory ("Deep Focus").
Starting in 1989, the CoSA works to strengthen state and territorial archives in their work to preserve America's historical records. The CoSA maintains a directory of the professional archives association for each of the 50 states plus the District Of Columbia, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, Samoa, and the Virgin Islands.
Starting in 1938, the FIAF (Fédération Internationale Des Archives Du Film) is dedicated to the rescue, collection, preservation and screening of moving images, both works of art and cultural and historical documents. FIAF is comprised of more than 150 institutions in over 75 countries.
Starting in 1989, the IRMT, a UK registered charity, works with governments to help strengthen records systems, in particular human resource, financial and court records, and to digital records management and open data.
Starting in 1974, the NAGARA sprung from the belief that neither the Society Of American Archivists nor the Association Of Record Managers And Administrators were speaking for government archives and records programs, particularly smaller combined operations on the state and local level.
Starting in 1977, the Northwest Archivists have been representing the states of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington, and they have been working to provide research materials and archival methodology, and to provide educational programs concerning manuscripts and archives.
Starting in 1972, the SSA works to stimulate and make available research in archival administration, promote principles and standards, and foster opportunities for education and training. There are currently over 500 members.
Starting in 2002, the TAMI is a nonprofit organization working to discover, preserve, provide access to, and educate the community about Texas' film heritage. To date they have digitized more than 30,000 films and videos.
Starting in 1909, the TSLAC preserves the archival record of Texas; enhances the service capacity of Texas public, academic, and school libraries; assists public agencies in the maintenance of their records; and meets the reading needs of Texans with disabilities through their Talking Book Program.