"PubMed by Year shows your search proportionally, comparing the results for each year to the database as whole. ... see how your results change over time. ... by entering multiple searches one at a time, you can easily compare them. Once you're finished, you can easily share your results with others or save your graphs for later."
"MeSH on Demand identifies MeSH® terms in your submitted text (abstract or manuscript). MeSH on Demand also lists PubMed similar articles relevant to your submitted text. Disclaimers: MeSH on Demand suggested MeSH vocabulary are machine-generated by MTI and DO NOT reflect any human review. MTI may recommend MeSH Terms not explicitly found in the text. "
"A PRISMA Flow Diagram, described in the PRISMA Statement is a graphical representation of the flow of citations reviewed in the course of a Systematic Review. ... using the form below you can produce a diagram easily in any of 10 different formats. The diagram is produced using the Open Source dot program (part of graphviz), and this tool provides the source for your diagram if you wish to further tweak your diagram."
Excel workbook designed to help conduct, document, and manage a systematic review. Made by Margaret J. Foster, MS, MPH, AHIP Systematic Reviews Coordinator Associate Professor Medical Sciences Library, Texas A&M University
Updated quarterly. Includes reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Provides information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including:
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews)
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews)
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare.
"This resource was built to be a repository of all existing evidence related to a health question, allowing users to search for systematic reviews and related material, including but not limited to primary studies included in systematic reviews, overviews of reviews, evidence-based policy briefs and guidelines based on reviews, and structured summaries of evidence presented in reviews." (SOURCE: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5624441/)
King, R., Hooper, B., & Wood, W. (2012). Medical Teacher 33(9), 719-723.
What is a Systematic Review?
The purpose of a systematic review is to sum up the best available research on a specific question. This is done by synthesizing the results of several studies. A systematic review uses transparent procedures to find, evaluate and synthesize the results of relevant research. Procedures are explicitly defined in advance, in order to ensure that the exercise is transparent and can be replicated. This practice is also designed to minimize bias. Studies included in a review are screened for quality, so that the findings of a large number of studies can be combined. Peer review is a key part of the process; qualified independent researchers control the author's methods and results.
A systematic review must have:
Clear inclusion/ exclusion criteria
An explicit search strategy
Systematic coding and analysis of included studies
Meta-analysis (where possible)
Use the resources on this page to learn more about systematic reviews and how to conduct one. If you need additional help, contact your librarian.