Documents how English varies across the United States.
Documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another across the United States. DARE is based on face-to-face interviews carried out in all 50 states between 1965 and 1970, and on a comprehensive collection of written materials including diaries, letters, novels, histories, biographies, newspapers, and more, from the colonial period to the present day.
The entries in DARE include regional pronunciations, variant forms, some etymologies, and regional and social distributions of the words and phrases.
Selected maps show where words were found in the 1,002 communities investigated during the fieldwork.
Some entries include audio recordings of the original DARE field interviews.
For a written or oral word to be included in DARE it must be a regional or folk term. Words from a standard dictionary are not included.
The DARE database can help with research along the lines of the well-cited “Pop vs Soda” debate.
Updated quarterly. Covers words from across the English-speaking world and offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and phonetic pronunciation. Corresponds to the print Oxford English Dictionary published in 1989 and the three Additions volumes published 1993-1997.
Succinct summaries of scholarly topics in linguistics.
A comprehensive resource that covers the highly diverse field of applied linguistics. The encyclopedia covers the philosophy and history of applied linguistics, discusses historic and emerging areas of research within the field, and provides biographies of key applied linguists.
It includes over 1,100 entries covering 27 key areas of the field, including:
This online encyclopedia provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields. The encyclopedia includes over 3,900 articles that discuss history, current trends and future directions. Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading.
Contains reference material covering the following disciplines:
Brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. Suited for scholars of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches in order to be as objective and versatile as possible. The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online is cross-searchable and cross-referenced, and is equipped with a browsable index. All relevant fields in Arabic linguistics, both general and language specific are covered and the Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online includes topics from interdisciplinary fields, such as anthropology, psychology, sociology, philosophy, and computer science.
Modern communications, with applied linguistics topics.
Explores the ways that editorial content (from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials) is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. Addresses topics in three broad categories: (1) the spectrum of media (newspapers, magazines, television, cable, radio, books, advertising, movies, videos, tapes and CDs, and online) and the status of the media in countries around the globe; (2) the development and use of communications technology, from the telephone and telegraph to computers and facsimile to fiber optics and satellites; (3) concepts that regulate the content and flow of information, such as censorship, copyright, and libel.
Communications studies, including communication phenomena.
Provides online access to all 12 volumes of the print reference work with updates made to the online edition. Features 1,339 newly-commissioned A-Z entries, divided into 29 editorial areas representing major fields of inquiry, each of which is headed by a leading expert in their respective field spanning the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Jointly published with the International Communication Association (ICA).
As described at the website:
"The Texas German Dialect Project (TGDP) is an umbrella organization for carrying out research in representative Texas German speech communities in central Texas. It is housed in the Department of Germanic Studies at the University of Texas at Austin.
The goals of the TGDP are:
to record and preserve the Texas German dialect, as it reflects the rich cultural and linguistic traditions of the Texan German community;
to gather information about linguistic diversity, so as to better understand the nature of language variation and change;
to make our research on language differences and language change available to the general public; and
to devote our collected research materials to improving educational programs on language and culture."
As described at the website: "This web site contains supporting electronic material for the Atlas of Pidgin and Creole Language Structures (APiCS), a publication of Oxford University Press. APiCS shows comparable synchronic data on the grammatical and lexical structures of 76 pidgin and creole languages. The language set contains not only the most widely studied Atlantic and Indian Ocean creoles, but also less well known pidgins and creoles from Africa, South Asia, Southeast Asia, Melanesia and Australia, including some extinct varieties, and several mixed languages."
Find the atlas in the PCL stacks: PM 7802 A86 2013 LIB USE ONLY
The book is in the PCL Map Collection at -Q- P 143 W67 2005 TEXT LIB USE ONLY. The accompanying CD-ROM is at the PCL Computer Help Desk -Q- P 143 W67 2005 CD-ROM (one copy for library use and one for check out).