China’s only English national news magazine, an important tool enabling the Chinese government to communicate to the rest of the world. Began in 1958 and is still in publication. Its English title was Peking review (1958-1978) and changed to Beijing Review (1979-present). This database provides access to its 1958-2007 contents. For online current issues, see http://www.bjreview.com.cn/.
Due to rising costs of scholarly information and a diminished collection budget, this resource was recently evaluated and selected for non-renewal as of May 1, 2017 and our access will cease October 10, 2017. This link will now redirect you to a similar resource, or you can contact the subject specialist for your area for additional assistance.
Technical requirements: Please use Internet Explorer 10.0 or above with 1920 x 1080 resolution to browse this website. Traditional Chinese character input method editor is required for searching. Font installation is required for proper display and is available from the site. Different databases require different fonts. The download page lists the required fonts by database.
Updated daily. China Academic Journals is part of the China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI net) and is produced by Qinghua University. The searchable, full text database covers numerous journals from the People's Republic of China, including English language publications. Indexes, bibliographic information, and abstracts are accessible for articles published in the years prior to UT’s subscription dates and for sections (subjects) that UT does not subscribe to.
The library has access to the following sections of the database:
Section F (Literature/History/Philosophy) 1915-current
Section G (Politics/Military Affairs/Law) 1915-current
Section H (Education & Social Sciences) 2009-current
Section J (Economics/Management) 1994-2006
The recommended web browser is Internet Explorer version 6.0 or higher. To view articles in pdf format, Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.x or above and its Simplified Chinese Font Pack must be installed.
China Statistical Data provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels. Our subscription includes the following databases:
Updated twice a year. Provides full text Chinese ebooks and reprint journals covering a variety of subject areas. Includes access to "Duxiu," a meta search engine with limited access to full text of Chinese ebooks, periodicals, dissertation/thesis, and patents.
Please note that Duxiu searches may bring up contents outside UT's full text coverage which you will not be able to download. Please use Interlibrary Services to request these materials.
Use of this resource is restricted to users with PCs and IE browser only. Page image and its full text (with provided OCR tool to convert image to text) can be printed one page at a time. Simple and Advanced Search methods are provided with all searches supporting Simplified Chinese characters.
Users may click “推荐” to recommend the title to the librarian for purchase
Provides a reference on China from its early beginnings, with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century. Covers the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
Provides access for registered users to the full text of over 800 Chinese core journals from 2012 forward. Unregistered users can access the index only. Covers subjects in the social sciences, humanities, arts, education, military, and more.
Based on Unicode, covers a wide array of ancient Chinese dictionaries, etymologies, literature and archaeological writings etc. Cover over 30,000 ancient Chinese titles, Database is updated and expanded continuously. For better usage, please consult “Help” on the database.
Includes 20,000 titles of newspapers and commercial and institutional periodicals, some rare materials such as students’ publications, alumni magazines, government and society publications, children’s magazines, etc. published 1792-1949. Register as a personal user and login within the UT IP range enables users to access continuing pages and to do document delivery. Database is updated and expanded continuously. For better usage, please consult “Help” on the database.
Available only in the University of Texas Libraries on library work stations.
The electronic version of the 12-volume printed Han yu da ci dian, a comprehensive Chinese language dictionary. It contains over 18,000 Chinese characters with pronunciation in Mandarin, 336,000 compound words, 23,000 idioms, 500,000 definitions and 861,000 citations. About 20 different searching methods are available in the database. Each entry includes phonetic notation, radicals, stroke count, and stroke order. Sentence examples of previous usage go back through all eras of Chinese texts, providing a great tool for studying both modern and classical Chinese.
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
University of Texas students, faculty, and staff can download materials in the public domain in addition to conducting full text searches of all materials in the HathiTrust Catalog. Click the "Log In" button and choose "University of Texas at Austin" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted.
The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.
Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO) is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. Titles included in this database cover a wide range of disciplines including law, medicine and education. The University of Hong Kong Libraries, with a rich collection of Hong Kong journals, developed this database with the objectives of facilitating efficient information retrieval and preserving archival materials. Issues included in this database vary from journal to journal with the earliest going back to 1948. At its first release, more than 170,000 images from over 40 titles will be accessible on the database. More titles with permission granted for digitizing their full text will be included to the database. New issues of the titles will also be added as soon as being received. Scholars doing research on Hong Kong will find this an invaluable resource.
Includes Xiangkang Zhong wen qi kan lun wen suo yin 香港中文期刊論文索引 and Aomen Zhong wen qi kan lun wen suo yin 澳門中文期刊論文索引 Index to over 300 Chinese and bilingual journals published in Hong Kong and Macau. Covers mostly issues from 1980. The important academic journals are indexed from first issue. The earliest is from 1853.
LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then release the audio files back onto the net (through a podcast, catalog, and bit torrents). They are a volunteer, open source, free content, public domain project, and operates almost exclusively through Internet communications.
民国時期期刊全文数据库includes over Chinese 20,000 journal titles and nearly 10 million pieces of literature of all subjects published 1911-1949.
The database is one of Shanghai Library’s "全国报刊索引" databases. UT has access to two databases in 全国报刊索引: 晚清期刊全文数据库, 1833-1911 and 民国時期期刊全文数据库, 1911-1949. 民国時期期刊全文数据库is an on-going digitization project. UT has access to what has been made available so far (1-9 series).
At the opening page of 全国报刊索引, select "近代期刊“ if you want the search to cover both 晚清期刊and 民国時期期刊. If you want to search only one of the database, click the moving images of 晚清期刊全文数据库, 1833-1911 or 民国時期期刊全文数据库, 1911-1949 on the bottom of the page
Provides full text access to the years 1946-2012 of People’s Daily, the official newspaper of the Central Committee of the Chinese Communist Party. Includes original images and advertisements. Searchable and printable both in text format and in PDF format. The language of this database is Chinese.
To display the full-image (PDF) newspaper articles correctly, you will need the Adobe Reader 8 with the Chinese Simplified Fonts. A support page from the vendor describing this setup is available. Full text is available without this, but it will not match the format of the original article.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please logout when you leave your session.
Provides full text access to current issues (2013 to present) of People’s Daily, the official newspaper of the Central Committee of the Chinese Communist Party. Includes original images and advertisements. The language of this publication is Chinese.
People's Daily editorials deal with such subjects as politics and culture, communist theory and philosophy, and Marxist and social economics. Issues of the publication from 1946-2005 are available in the Ren Min Ri Bao 人民日报 Archive database.
When you first enter the database, you will see only the current issue. Click on that issue, and then look for the ""Browse previous issues"" link to find earlier issues.
Contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history. The database is very useful for keyword searching. UT users have limited access through the free version. Click “免費使用” (the left-hand button) to enter.
晚清期刊全文数据库includes Chinese language journals of all subjects published 1833-1911. 302 journal titles are covered. The database is not truly full-text, but images of articles.
晚清期刊全文数据库 is one of Shanghai Library’s "全国报刊索引" databases. UT has access to two databases in 全国报刊索引: 晚清期刊全文数据库, 1833-1911 and 民国時期期刊全文数据库, 1911-1949.
At the opening page of 全国报刊索引, select "近代期刊“ if you want the search to cover both 晚清期刊and 民国時期期刊. If you want to search only one of the database, click the moving images of 晚清期刊全文数据库, 1833-1911 or 民国時期期刊全文数据库, 1911-1949 on the bottom of the page.
The Sixth National Population Census of China Database (NPCC) provides access to all data from the population census in 2010 published by China Statistics Press including all population data from the whole country, 31 provinces and centrally administered municipalities and 2872 units at the county level.
Basic features of NPCC:
All the statistical data forms are elaborately processed into Excel format, for searching, browsing and analyzing.
Enables data searching and comparison among different locations, industries and years at one time.
Enables in-depth data mining, and analytical results can be exported into Excel or Word.
Provides detailed data source review.
Provides English version of both content and interface.
中國方志庫 is one of the databases in 愛如生古籍數據庫 in 愛如生 (Erudition). At the Erudition Central Server, select 愛如生古籍數據庫 and click login. Then click 中國方志庫 and then中國方志庫. 初籍 (中國方志庫. 初籍 is the only database in 愛如生UTL currently has access to.)
Updated monthly. Contains historical materials related to the Revolution: Chinese Communist Party documents, speeches and writings by major party leaders and media commentaries. Comprises 10,000 documents in 30 million characters. Users can browse by subject categories and date. It is also searchable by author, keyword and organization. Search interface in both English and Chinese: results in Chinese.