LibGuides: ARTstor: Home

Welcome

ARTstor is a database of more than 2 million images that are available to you for academic use. It includes images of art, architecture, graphic arts, historical documents (manuscripts, texts, & photographs), textiles, artifacts & objects, and maps as well as representations of food culture, medicine, cities, & music. Do not be discouraged by the "Art" in ARTstor, the database is multi-disciplinary and includes images relevant to the humanities, social sciences, and historical sciences.

This guide was designed with help from ARTstor's help pages and extensive of use of the database. It will help you navigate the basics and show you a couple of paths for finding the resources you need. If you need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact Katie Pierce Meyer, the Architecture and Planning Librarian.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly. Comprised of over 2.5 million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but is not limited to, the arts. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images as well as by art historians.
In order to take advantage of all the features of the site, you must register or log in with the service. The registration and login links are visible once you enter the database.

Let's get started!

Before using the database you need to register for an account (or login into your account) in order to access the images off campus, download, save, or print them. Use your UT email account and create a password separate from your UT EID.