LibGuides: Historic Preservation: Standards, Codes, & Specifications

ASTM and API standards

ASTM and API standards are now available via the ASTM Compass database.

For ASTM material (including standards, journals, STP, proceedings, etc.) use the search box on the home screen.
For API standards, click on API under the OTHER CONTENT heading.

Please email the engineering library if you have any problems accessing this database.

Welcome to Finding Engineering Standards!

To access the appropriate database for the standards you need, use the table below and click on the title link to go directly to the appropriate database. Please read the corresponding notes.

PLEASE read the following before using the IHS database:

All users need to register for a free account in order to access standards on the IHS platform. ASME BPVC and ESDU will be accessible through the same login credentials.
Our IHS subscription only includes current standards [although for some Codes we do have earlier editions.]
AWS and ICC require users to download and use a free Adobe Acrobat plug-in to view their secure PDF standards. Once in the database, click on the yellow lock icon for more information. The plug-in does not work properly in Chrome.

Please Note: International Standards (ISO, IEC, ITU, DIN, etc.) are not collected or purchased by the University of Texas Libraries. Go to the IHS Standards Store to purchase copies of standards from all national or international organizations and many companies.

If you have any questions, please email the engineering librarians or call us at (512) 495-4511.

ALSO: We don't subscribe to ANSI standards, UNLESS they are co-sponsored by one of the following groups:

Society	Notes
AASHTO American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials	Once in the database select "IHS Standards Expert"
ACI American Concrete Institute	Once in the database select "IHS Standards Expert"
API American Petroleum Institute	Click on API under OTHER CONTENT
ASCE American Society of Civil Engineers	Once in the database select "IHS Standards Expert"
ASHRAE American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers	Once in the database select "IHS Standards Expert"
ASHRAE Handbooks [older print handbooks can be found in the catalog]	Once in the database select "IHS Standards Expert" and type "ashrae handbook" in the keyword search field.
ASME American Society of Mechanical Engineers	Once in the database select "IHS Standards Expert"
ASME BPVC Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code	Once in the database select "ASME BPVC Advantage" [includes the following versions: 2015, 2013, 2010, 2007, 2004, 2001, 1998]
ASTM American Society for Testing and Materials	In addition to ASTM standards and research reports - ASTM Compass now includes full-text access to all ASTM journals, Special Technical Publications (STP), manuals/monographs, data series, proceedings, bulletins, and materials research and standards. We also have most ASTM STP (special technical publications*) in print. Go to the catalog and type in "ASTM special technical publications" in the title field.
AWS American Welding Society	Once in the database select "IHS Standards Expert" AWS requires users to download and use a free Adobe Acrobat plug-in to view their secure PDF standards. For more information, once in the database, click on the yellow lock icon This plug-in does not work with Chrome.
ICC International Code Council Only the current* editions are available online, for historical editions go to the catalog and search by the title of the code. Example: International Building Code (in print)	Once in the database select "IHS Standards Expert" type ICC in the document number search box. ICC requires users to download and use a free Adobe Acrobat plug-in to view their secure PDF standards. For more information, once in the database, click on the yellow lock icon This plug-in does not work with Chrome.
IEEE Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers	Click on Browse at the top left and select Standards
IES Illuminating Engineering Society of North America	Once in the database select "IHS Standards Expert"
NESC National Electrical Safety Code and Handbook	National Electrical Safety Code (NESC): C2-2017 NESC handbook: contributor commentary on the 2017 NESC
NFPA National Fire Protection Association	Once in the database select "IHS Standards Expert"