Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries


Instruments, Tests & Measures

Various Tests and Measures, Described

Buros Institute - The Buros Institute Web pages details the premier resources in the fields of education and psychological testing. The items, the Mental Measurements Yearbook series and the Tests in Print series, and instructions on their use are described in full detail. Consult the list below for the UT holdings of these and other closely related resources.

Compendium of Quality of Life Instruments 
RA 407 C65 1998 CD-ROM PCL Reference - Electronic Information Center
RA 407 C65 1998 COMPUTER DISK PCL Reference - Electronic Information Center
RA 407 C65 1998 V.1 PCL Reference Dept USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
RA 407 C65 1998 V.2 PCL Reference Dept USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
RA 407 C65 1998 V.3 PCL Reference Dept USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
RA 407 C65 1998 V.4 PCL Reference Dept USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
RA 407 C65 1998 V.5 PCL Reference Dept USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
/ (edited by) Sam Salek. Chichester ; New York : John Wiley & Sons, c1998.Includes bibliographical references and index. English and over 40 other languages are represented by the Compendium.

Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures. / Bert A. Goldman and John L. Saunders. New York, Behavioral Publications, 1974- 
BF 431 G624 V.1-7 PCL Reference
Title Index BF 431 2001 PCL Stacks

‚ÄčMeasures for Psychological Assessment: a Guide to 3,000 Original Sources and Their Applications / Chun, Ki-Taek. Sidney Cobb and John R. P., French, Jr. Ann Arbor, Mich.: Survey Research Center, 1975.
HM 48 C4826 PCL Reference Dept (additional copies in PCL Stacks)
This is a comprehensive bibliography of experimental (unpublished) mental health measures. The items cited appeared in 26 journals in psychology and sociology between 1960 and 1970. Each citation includes author, test title, and basic bibliographic information.
 Most also provide normative data, validity, other information specific to the instrument, and at least one reference to citations in the book's applications section which lists 6,600 articles in which the scales were used.

Test Critiques. Kansas City, Mo. : Test Corporation of America, c1984-
BF 176 T418 V.1 1984 through V.10 1994 PCL Reference

Test Critiques Compendium : Reviews of Major Tests from the Test Critiques Series. Kansas City, Mo. : Test Corp. of America, c1987.
BF 176 T4195 1987 PCL Reference

Tests; A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business / edited by Taddy Maddox. 4th ed. Austin : Pro-Ed, c1997.
BF 176 T43 1997 PCL Reference
Contains consistent codified information describing and cataloging tests available for use by psychologists, educators, and human resource personnel.

Tests in Print VI : An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests / edited by Linda L. Murphy, Jane Close Conoley, and James C. Impara. Lincoln, Neb. Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska-Lincoln : Distributed by the University of Nebraska Press, 2002. 
LB 3051 T477 2002 PCL Reference
APA describes Tests In Print as "a bibliographic encyclopedia of information on every commercially available test in psychology and achievement. Each entry consists of the test title, intended population, publication date, acronym (if applicable), author, publisher, foreign adaptations, and references. There are no critical reviews or psychometric information on the tests; detailed information on individual tests is available in other reference books such as MMY or Test Critiques. TIP was created to serve as a master index to the whole Buros Institute reference series on tests, including the 11 MMYs and the monograph series."

Tests & Measures LibGuide

NCLEX Resources

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.