Dr. E. J. Lund, the first director of the Marine Science Institute, collected materials in marine science, which formed the basis of the institute's library, during 1946-47. With nearly 50,000 volumes in foreign and domestic titles, the library's collection currently supports the curriculum of the Department of Marine Science in the College of Natural Sciences. The library also serves the research unit of the University of Texas Marine Science Institute in Port Aransas, Texas.
Find more information about the history of the Marine Science Institute.
The library is a primary source for marine-related information in the state and in the Gulf of Mexico. It houses several Texas state publications relating to fisheries and water resources.
Subject disciplines covered include: fish physiology and ecology; biogeochemistry; ecosystem dynamics; marine relative to botany, chemistry, geology, microbiology, toxicology; aquaculture and mariculture; biological and physical oceanography; reproductive physiology of marine animals and endocrinology.
Texas ScholarWorks - scholarly and research works of the University of Texas at Austin, reflecting the intellectual and service environment of the campus.
Aquatic Commons, IAMSLIC- thematic digital repository covering the natural marine, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments.
Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) - digitization component of the Encyclopedia of Life; a consortium of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions organized to digitize, serve, and preserve the legacy literature of biodiversity.
Digital Libraries: Harmful Algae, National Sea Grant Library
The Digital Library Center, University of Florida - millions of pages, hundreds of thousands of items, and hundreds of collections.
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) - cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
Freshwater and Marine Image Bank, University of Washington - digital collection of images related to freshwater and marine topics
HathiTrust Digital Library - conceived as a collaboration of thirteen universities, archiving and sharing immense digitized collections.
National Marine Mammal Laboratory, Marine Mammal Image Gallery, NOAA Fisheries, Alaska Fisheries Science Center
Library Digital Collection, USGS, National Wetlands Research Center.
The Marine Science Library recognizes MSI faculty, senior scientists / staff, receiving special awards and honors. A title of personal choice is selected and a bookplate is added in the book, describing the award.
The Nueces River: Río Escondido / Margie Crisp / Texas A & M University Press, 2017. [ on order ]
G. Joan Holt, Recipient of the 2017 Harvey Weil Professional Conservationist of the Year Award.
Bryan A. Black, Recipient of the International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) Service Award.
Edward J. Buskey, Recipient of the 2016 National Estuarine Research Reserve System's (NERRS) Impact Award.
Anthony F. Amos, Recipient of the 2016 Coastal Bend Bays Foundation Legacy Award. MSI Highlights
Brad Erisman, Recipient of the 2016 Gulf Research Program Early-Career Research Fellowships Award.
Cindy Faulk, Recipient of the 2016 University of Texas President's Outstanding Staff Award. MSI Highlights
G. Christopher Shank, Recipient for appreciation award from the University of Texas at Austin Services for Students with Disabilities. MSI Highlights
Brett J. Baker, Recipient of the 2016 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow in Ocean Sciences Award.
Life's engines : how microbes made Earth habitable / Paul G. Falkowski / Princeton ; Oxford : Princeton University Press, 
Discovering the North-West Passage : the four-year Arctic odyssey of H.M.S. Investigator and the McClure Expedition / Glenn M. Stein / Jefferson, NC : McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers,  MSI Highlights
Sex in the sea : our intimate connection with sex-changing fish, romantic lobsters, kinky squid, and other salty erotica of the deep / Marah J. Hardt ; illustrated by Missy Chimovitz / New York, N.Y. : St. Martin's Press,  MSI Highlights
Blue hope : exploring and caring for earth's magnificent ocean / Sylvia A. Earle, National Geographic Explorer-in-Residence & founder of Mission Blue / Washington, D.C. National Geographic,  MSI Highlights
G. Christopher Shank, Recipient of the College of Natural Sciences Teaching Excellence Award, 2015.
Blue mind : the surprising science that shows how being near, in, on, or under water can make you happier, healthier, more connected, and better at what you do / Wallace J. Nichols ; foreword by Céline Cousteau / New York : Little, Brown and Company, 2014.
Anthony F. Amos, Recipient of the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service 2014 Recovery Champion Award. MSI Highlights
Anthony F. Amos, Recipient of the 2014 UTMSI Green Team Environmental Hero Award.
Andrew Esbaugh, Recipient of the 2014 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award.
Fish physiology, edited by W.S. Hoar and D. J. Randall. Contributors: Frank P. Conte ... [et al.]. New York, Academic Press, 1969- . Vol. 33. Organic chemical toxicology of fishes / edited by Keith B. Tierney, Anthony P. Farrell and Colin J. Brauner.
Dong-Ha Min, Recipient of the College of Natural Sciences Teaching Excellence Award, 2013.
Biogeochemistry of marine dissolved organic matter / edited by Dennis A. Hansell and Craig A. Carlson / 2nd ed. / Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, AP, Academic Press is an imprint of Elsevier, .
Kenneth H. Dunton, Recipient of the 2013 Alaska Regional Director's Excellence Award for Outstanding Partner with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
Arctic wings : birds of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge / edited by Stephen Brown ; foreword by Jimmy Carter ; introduction by David Allen Sibley ; Subhankar Banerjee ... [et al.] / 1st ed. / Seattle : Mountaineers Books ; Manomet, Mass. : Manomet Center for Conservation Sciences, 2006.
Deana Erdner, Recipient of the College of Natural Sciences Teaching Excellence Award, 2012.
Population genetics / Matthew B. Hamilton / Chichester, UK ; Hoboken, NJ : Wiley-Blackwell, 2009.
G. Christopher Shank, Recipient of the UT Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award, 2011.
G. Joan Holt, In honor of Professor Emerita, 2013.
Larval fish nutrition / editor, G. Joan Holt / Chichester, West Sussex, UK ; Ames, Iowa : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Zhanfei Liu, Recipient of the 2011 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award.
Chemical biomarkers in aquatic ecosystems / Thomas S. Bianchi and Elizabeth A. Canuel / Princeton : Princeton University Press, c2011.
James W. McClelland, Recipient of the https://cns.utexas.edu/about/excellence-awards/teaching-awards">College of Natural Sciences Teaching Excellence Award, 2010.
River discharge to the coastal ocean : a global synthesis / John D. Milliman, Katherine L. Farnsworth / Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2011.
Lee A. Fuiman, Recipient of the Coastal Bend Bays Foundation, Conservation & Environmental Stewardship Award, 2009.
Early life history of marine fishes / Bruce S. Miller, Arthur W. Kendall, Jr. / Berkeley, Calif. : University of California Press, c2009.
G. Joan Holt and Scott Holt, Recipients of the Port Aransas Boatmen’s Hall of Fame, 2009.
Fish physiology, edited by W.S. Hoar and D. J. Randall. Contributors: Frank P. Conte ... [et al.]. New York, Academic Press, 1969- . Vol. 28. Fish neuroendocrinology / edited by Nicholas J. Bernier ... [et al.].
Pablo Munguia, Recipient of the Big XII Faculty Fellowship Award, 2009.
Numerical ecology / Pierre Legendre and Louis Legendre / 2nd English ed. / Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 1998.
G. Christopher Shank, Recipient of the College of Natural Sciences Teaching Excellence Award, 2008.
Principles of fluorescence spectroscopy / Joseph R. Lakowicz / 3rd ed. / New York : Springer, c2006.
Henrietta Edmonds, Recipient of the Harrington Faculty Fellowship Award, 2005-2006.
High latitudes : a history of Swedish Polar travels and research / Gösta H. Liljequist / Stockholm : Swedish Polar Research Secretariat in collaboration with Streiffert, c1993.
Tracy Villareal, Recipient of the Darbaker Award by the Botanical Society of America, 2005.
The prokaryotes : a handbook on the biology of bacteria / Martin Dworkin, editor in chief ; Stanley Falkow … [et al.], editors / 3rd ed. / New York : Springer, c2006.
Special Titles - In Memory Of
The following titles were selected and purchased for the Marine Science Library, given in memory of the special friends of The University of Texas Marine Science Institute.
In Memory of ...
Amos, Anthony F., (1937-2017), Research Scientist, Oceanographer, The University of Texas Marine Science Institute, Founder and Director of the Animal (now Amos) Rehabilitation Keep, “Guardian of the Gulf.”
Health care & rehabilitation of turtles and tortoises. Amanda Ebenhack. Special ed. [Ada, Oklahoma] : Living Art Publishing, . Edmund J. Fleming, Jr. Marine Science Institute Library Endowment.
The narrow edge : a tiny bird, an ancient crab, & an epic journey. Deborah Cramer. New Haven ; London : Yale University Press, . Christopher P. Carothers and Michael M. Fleming Marine Science Institute Library Endowment.
Turtles of the United States and Canada. Carl H. Ernst and Jeffrey E. Lovich. 2nd ed. Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2009. Mary Anderson Abell Marine Science Library.
Turtles of the world. Franck Bonin. Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2006. Christopher P. Carothers and Michael M. Fleming Marine Science Institute Library Endowment.
Decherd, Jonathan F. Jr., (1964-2000), son of Dr. Jonathan and Holly Decherd, Austin, TX.
Caribbean reef plants. Diane Scullion Littler. Washington, D.C., 2000.
Halioua, Maurizio, (1961-2006), Owner-Chef of the Venetian Hot Plate Restaurant, Port Aransas, TX, friend of Mary Abell, Austin, TX.
Rockport collection : fish, game, fine art. Rockport, Tex. : Rockport Art Association, 1986.
Holmgreen, John C., Sr. (“Big John”), (1919-2003), served as President of the Medical Foundation and the Texas Association of Business; retired as Chief Executive Officer from Alamo Iron Works.
Reef coral identification : Florida, Caribbean, Bahamas : including marine plants. Paul Humann and Ned DeLoach. 2nd ed., enl. Jacksonville, Fla. : New World Publications, 2002 (Singapore : Star Standard Industries) Special Funds from the Marine Science Advisory Council.
Reef creature identification : Florida, Caribbean, Bahamas. Paul Humann and Ned DeLoach. 2nd ed., enl. Jacksonville, Fla. : New World Publications, c2002 Singapore : Star Standard Industries) Special Funds from the Marine Science Advisory Council.
Reef fish identification : Florida, Caribbean, Bahamas. Paul Humann and edited by Ned DeLoach. 3rd ed., enl. Jacksonville, Fla. : New World Publications, c2002 (Singapore : Star Standard Industries) Special Funds from the Marine Science Advisory Council.
Parker, Patrick L., Ph.D., (1933-2011), Professor Emeritus, former director of the University of Texas Marine Science Institute.
Compound-specific stable isotope analysis. Maik A. Jochmann, Torsten C. Schmidt. Cambridge, UK : RSC Pub., c2012.
Special Funds from the Marine Science Advisory Council. Funding also supported by Dr. William L. Longley, longtime friend of the Marine Science Library.
Handbook of environmental isotope geochemistry. Mark Baskaran, editor. Berlin ; New York : Springer, 2011. Special Funds from the Marine Science Advisory Council. Funding also supported by Dr. William L. Longley.
Powell, Gary L., (1947-2013). Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin, Ichthyology & Aquatic Ecology, under Dr. Clark Hubbs.
Gulf of Mexico origin, waters, and biota, v. 4. edited by John W. Tunnell, Jr., Darryl L. Felder, and Sylvia A. Earle. 1st ed. College Station : Texas A&M University Press, 2009. Special funds from Dr. William L. Longley.
Ecosystem dynamics : from the past to the future. Richard H.W. Bradshaw, Martin T. Sykes. Chichester, West Sussex ; Hoboken, NJ : Wiley-Blackwell, 2014. Special funds from Dr. William L. Longley.
Methods in biogeochemistry of wetlands. R.D. DeLaune ... et al., editors. Madison, Wis. : Soil Science Society of America, c2013. Special funds from Dr. William L. Longley.
Symbiosis in fishes : the biology of interspecific partnerships. Ilan Karplus. Chichester, West Sussex, UK : Wiley-Blackwell, 2014. Special Funds from the Marine Science Advisory Council. Funding also supported by Dr. William L. Longley.
Wickham, Andrea Rene ("Andi"), (1957-2011), The Animal Rehabilitation Keep (ARK), The University of Texas Marine Science Institute.
Guide for the care and use of laboratory animals. 8th ed. Washington, D.C. : National Academies Press, c2011. Edmund J. Fleming, Jr. Marine Science Institute Library Endowment.
Wohlschlag, Donald Eugene (“Curly), Ph.D., (1918-2007), Professor Emeritus, former director of the University of Texas Marine Science Institute.
Hidden depths : atlas of the oceans. New York, NY : Collins, 2007.
Planet ocean : voyage to the heart of the marine realm. Laurent Ballesta and Pierre Descamp. English ed. Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, [2007?]
Wetlands. William J. Mitsch and James G. Gosselink. 4th ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2007.
Special Title - Donors
The following titles were gifted or selected for the Marine Science Library, in kind support of our donors.
Gifted by Catherine A. Gleason, daughter of Mary Abell.
Jacques Cousteau : the ocean world / by Jacques Cousteau / New York : Abradale Press, 1985.
-Q- QH 91.15 C652 1985 MSL Reference
Mary Anderson Abell Marine Science Library Endowment
Gifted and signed by Greg and Mary Beth Dimijian, sister of G. Joan Holt.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.