Beolingus
German-English, German-Spanish, and German-Portuguese dictionary.
Duden (online)
German-German only. The print versions are the standard reference work for the German language. The online version is a commercial product with ads.
DWDS : Das Digitale Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache
Dictionary of "contemporary" German (in German), created by the Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften. Includes pronounciation, etymology.
Grimms deutsches Wörterbuch
German-German. Includes searchable "original" 16-volume work (1854-1960), begun by the Brothers Grimm. Massive though not exhaustive, largely excluding "Low German," foreign, and loanwords. Available in PDF. The updated edition is available only in print in an expansive 33 volumes.
The PONS Open Dictionary
German-English. In the Open Dictionary, or OpenDict for short, every PONS user can contribute user entries. Native-speaker lexicographers edit the entries and publish them in the PONS Online Dictionary. In this way, thousands of new entries are added to our online dictionary each year. Ads.
Find German encyclopedias, dictionaries in print in the UT Libraries:
Search the library catalog, using keyword strategies such as:
Goethe dictionar*
German theat* encyclopedia* [where theat* = theater or theatre]
Samples:
Encyclopedia of contemporary German culture, 1999 [a snapshot]
Encyclopedia of German literature, 2000- .
The pocket Oxford-Duden German dictionary : German-English, English-German by EID login required
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.
