LibGuides: Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering: Research Papers, News Updates, and Journals

Databases for Finding Research Papers & Popular Articles

Here is a list of recommended databases for petroleum engineering. Coverage varies by product but most help you find research papers --- including journal articles and conference papers --- on topics of interest. See more products at the big list of Databases, where you may search by subject, type, and provider.

Which to select?

Compendex is the first choice for searching the research literature of petroleum and geosystems engineering. Compendex indexes across engineering disciplines and publishers.
OnePetro is popular (and very good) because of focused content and full-text; however, it is not as comprehensive in coverage as are products such as Compendex and Academic Search Complete. OnePetro focuses on publications from a group of societies.
Academic Search Complete has good coverage of engineering topics and related fields but does not have conference papers.
For the the business of petroleum engineering, remember ABI/INFORM and Business Source Complete.

Compendex This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature of engineering. The top index for searching petroleum engineering topics. May be searched together with GeoRef.
Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
Conference papers and journal articles from the SPE and related groups. Much full-text.
Updated regularly. A multi-society library that provides a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
Currently indexes more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently.
The following organizations are among those with their conference papers and technical documents indexed through OnePetro:
- American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA)
- American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE)
- Offshore Technology Conference (OTC)
- NACE International (corrosion engineers)
- Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) **includes full-text
- Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA)
- The Society of Underwater Technology (SUT)
- World Petroleum Council (WPC)
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The primary indexing tool for the research literature of geology. May be searched together with Compendex.
Updated bi-monthly. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present, and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes both research journals and popular publications across academic fields. Usually no conference papers. Much full-text.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature of business and management. With the ProQuest interface.
Updated daily. In-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's index to the literature of business. Much full-text.
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.
Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
The major index to the literature of chemistry and chemical engineering.
Updated daily. Requires users to register with a utexas.edu email account. Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature of science across disciplines, with the special feature of following citations.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature of physics and of electrical and computer engineering.
Updated weekly. Indexes the research literature of physics; electrical engineering and electronics; & computers and control. Offers over 15 million records and strong international coverage. The archive portion, which was formerly separate, is now integrated with the current file.

For news coverage:

Factiva This link opens in a new window
A news full-text service, especially for business content.
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A news full-text service. Also, a special section on legal information.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Effective January 1, 2018, Nexis Uni™ replaces LexisNexis Academic.

"Find it at UT"

Click on "Find it at UT" (or on an icon with similar text) to link to the electronic text of a journal article. Sometimes, the linking won't work out and you should see information about how to obtain a copy of the material.

When You Want to Find Access to a Journal

To search by journal name, go the the Journals search.

Interlibrary Services

Interlibrary Loan & Scanning
Staff in this department provide interlibrary loan service (obtaining copies of books) and also provide the scan service (obtaining copies of papers and book chapters). If needed, they arrange for the purchase of material.