Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Find Articles

Choose a Database

Choose a Database

Single articles on a topic are found in our library databases.  The UT Libraries pay to have access to these databases and the articles they contain.

You can search in databases that are multidisciplinary or subject-specific:

 

Type of Database About Start Here

Multidisciplinary

  • Include popular and scholarly articles on all topics
  • Useful if scholars from multiple disciplines would write about your topic or if you don't know where to start
  • Great for assignments in UGS and other undergraduate courses where you may only need a few sources

 

Academic Search Complete

 

Subject-specific

  • Include scholarly and specialized articles from a specific discipline
  • To choose a database, think about what department on campus would have scholars researching your topic, then use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu on the databases page to find that department, or find the guide for that subject (ex. PsycINFO for Psychology topics)

Databases List (use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu)

Guides List (choose a subject)

If you are looking for a specific type of information, other than scholarly articles (ex. historical newspapers, audiovisual, etc.) you can also look at databases by type of information they contain by using the "all database types" dropdown menu.   

Learn more about databases with the video below.

What are databases?

This video, from RMIT University, explains what a database is...

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.