Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Energy Resources

Databases, Journals, Books

Databases, Journals, Books

Engineering

  • OnePetro - A multi-society library that provides a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
     
  • Compendex - Indexes scholarly journals and conferences in all areas of engineering.
     
  • IEEE Xplore - Provides full-text access to IEEE and IEE journals, conference proceedings and current IEEE standards covering electrical and computer engineering, electronics, computer science and physics.
     
  • SciFinder - SciFinder is the best place to start your search for research-level chemical information.
     
  • More engineering databases


Interdisciplinary Databases

  • Web of Science - A subject/author index unique in its cited-reference search (which scientific works have been cited and by whom).
     
  • Academic Search Complete - A good source for undergraduates; many full-text articles; interdisciplinary, with wide coverage of the applied sciences.
     
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) - A database of encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources. 
     
  • CQ Researcher - Each report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue with numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles.


Geology
 
Company/Industry Information and Country Profiles

Policy

  • PAIS International - Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social and public policy issues.
     
  • More public affairs databases


Environmental

  • Annual Review of Environment and Resources 
     
  • AGRICOLA - Contains bibliographic citations with some abstracts covering agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics and rural sociology. 
     
  • GreenFILE - Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more


News databases

  • LexisNexis Academic - Provides both full text and abstracts for a wide range of general-interest wire services, newspapers and magazines from around the world, including full text of the New York Times. Also provides access to company profiles and financial reports, government transcripts, trade journals and academic and legal databases.
     
  • Factiva - A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), news wires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites.
     
  • Newspaper Source - Provides full text for 20 U.S. & international newspapers; also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR and others.
     
  • Additional news related databases

To see if we have a particular journal (i.e. Nature, Energy), either in print or electronic format, search the Find a Journal link.

TIP: Click the  button to access the electronic version of the journal.

Examples include:

Library Catalog - Locate millions of items, including books, ebooks, journals, and other materials in the University of Texas Libraries collections.

Example Subject Heading Terms:

Loading ...

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.