Find Articles - UGS 302: Literary Expressions of Systems Ecology - Porto - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Get Started with Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 12,000 journals in all subject areas
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
Updated regularly. Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Covers books, book reviews, journals and dissertations. Also reviews films and video projects. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Features cross-searchable access to the acclaimed Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections and provides anthropologists, sociologists and cultural historians with an expansive and multifaceted survey of the discipline. Researchers can explore a wide range of materials—from documentaries and field notes to written ethnographies and reference works.
Thematic areas include: family and race, material culture, language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, marriage, gender, and family roles.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.
Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers world history dating from 1450 to the present.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic citations with some abstracts covering agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics and rural sociology.
Updated daily. Contains bibliographic citations with some abstracts covering agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics and rural sociology. Includes journal articles, books, state extension and experiment station publications and USDA documents.
Access the USDA National Agricultural Library through AGRICOLA Books.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect. Email alerts are available if you register.
Ebooks: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These ebooks are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.

Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles from many of the most important academic journals in the humanities.
Provides access to articles from many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology,and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education,and language.
Updated quarterly. Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology,and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education,and language.

Choose a Database

You can search in databases that are multidisciplinary or subject-specific:

Type of Database

About

Start Here

Multidisciplinary

Include popular and scholarly articles on all topics
Useful if scholars from multiple disciplines would write about your topic or if you don't know where to start
Great for assignments in UGS!

Academic Search Complete

Subject-specific

Include scholarly and specialized articles from a specific discipline
To choose a database, think about what department on campus would have scholars researching your topic (ex. PsycINFO for Psychology topics or AGRICOLA for Ecology).

Databases List (use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu)

Guides List (choose a subject)

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.

Find an Article from a Citation

Guide on the Side - Find Articles from a Citation

Use this guide to find an article when you already have a specific citation.