Find Articles - UGS 302: Brazilian Studies - Afolabi - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Find Articles on a Topic

Keywords
Choose a place to search

Keyword tool
Use this tool to help you brainstorm keywords on your topic.

Searching databases is different than searching Google. Distil what you're looking for into a few key terms or phrases, rather than whole sentences.

Write down your topic and underline the main concepts (ex. favelas' impact on creative culture in Brazil)

For each main concept, brainstorm a few synonyms and related terms (broader or narrower) that get at that concept:

Key Concepts

Favelas

Brazil

Creative culture

Related Terms

favella

favelados

urban slums

Dance

Music

samba

carnival

Combine key terms using AND and OR:
- AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words (your two or three key concepts should be connected with AND, because you need all of them represented in useful articles).
- OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the words (synonyms and related terms should be separated by OR - they get at the same key concepts, so any of them are useful).
Try different combinations of your keywords to get better results as you search:

For this assignment, you might need several types of sources:

Source Type	Start Here
Scholarly Articles	The Library Databases, see recommendations below
Background Information (definitions, short explanations of a topic)	Gale eBooks (for encyclopedias that were published and often written by experts) - see background information tab Wikipedia - as a jumping off point to other materials
Journalism/News	Google or the UT Libraries NexisUni database. Make sure to evaluate unfamiliar publications.

Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Articles & More Advanced Search
This is the advanced version of the library Articles & More search.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles (and other information) on many disciplines.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Subject-Specific Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1895 - present. Unlimited.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Find Scholarly articles on Latin America and from Latin America. Click advanced search to limit by language.
Updated annually. Citations to articles, essays and book reviews relating to Latin America or from Latin American periodicals. Primarily Spanish, English and Portuguese titles.

Latin American Studies Guide
More resources for studying Latin American Studies from the librarians at the Benson Collection.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles on history from around the world.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.

News Databases

PressReader This link opens in a new window
60 day archive. 3 users.
Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

More Newspaper Databases
Find news (full list of the UT Libraries news databases)- notice the topics the databases cover, as well as the dates of coverage. Nexis Uni is a good go-to.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

What are databases?

This video, from RMIT University, explains what a database is...

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click FIND IT AT UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click GET A SCAN to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.