LibGuides: UGS 302: New Urban Studies / Lewis: Find Background Information

What is Background Information?

What keywords can you find in these resources to make your search strategy stronger?
Who cares about your topic? (kinds of experts (urban planners? ecologists?) or specific groups (families? immigrants?))
What do those people argue about? How can you narrow your topic to a smaller controversy? (Lincoln Memorial ---> Graffiti and Lincoln Memorial)

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
It may be difficult to find Austin-specific topics here, but larger topics like, the history of urban parks, will be present.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. A list of sources included in our subscription is available.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Find information about Texas history, literature, public health, businesses, sports, etc. Includes biographies as well.
Updated weekly. Includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans. Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage.
Handbook of Texas Online This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture
Updated perodically. A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the University of Texas Libraries.