LibGuides: UGS 302: New Urban Studies / Lewis: Find Primary Sources

What is a Primary Source?

Primary sources are produced by participants or direct observers of an issue, event or time period. These sources may be recorded during the event or later on, by a participant reflecting upon the event.

Aside from newspapers, some other examples of primary sources include:

Speeches
Government documents
Legal documents
Public opinion polls
Personal materials, including letters, diaries, interviews, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories
Images
Works of art (novels, plays, paintings, etc.)

Find Primary Sources by Type

Texas Tribune
Texas Observer
Austin American Statesman - 2 month lag
This covers 1997-2018, not including 2 most recent months.

Austin American Statesman (Historical) This link opens in a new window
1871-1975
Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. As the leading newspaper in the capital of Texas, the Historical Austin American Statesman provides researchers with unique insights into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of this important state, as well as the southwest U.S. from the late 19th through the 20th century. The paper has strong central Texas coverage, especially for political reporting.
More recent issues are available in LexisNexis Academic, Factiva and Library PressDisplay.

Looking for coverage of the Statesman in years not covered above? It's best to ask Elise or chat with a librarian!

Austin Chronicle
Austin's free weekly. Covers events and local issues.
Community Impact Newspaper - Austin
Covers local issues - great place for data.

Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Some Austin independent or alternative magazines.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Austin History Center
TARO - Texas Archival Resources Online
Easiest way to search across archives in Texas, including archives on campus.
City of Austin Open Data Portal
Open data and information from the city of Austin

Daily Texan - Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
1900-2016
Digitized copies and content of the Daily Texan.

Daily Texan - Current

Directory of outdoor statuary : the University of Texas at Austin by compiled by Carl J. Eckhardt
Many copies - one is available at the PCL desk.

Campus Master Plan
Use this to understand the University's objectives and stated values about our physical campus.
UT Campus Buildings
A list of Websites, books and more to research.

Search Maps in the catalog
You can limit to maps with this link. Most maps are in the PCL map collection in the basement of PCL. There is a librarian located there to help you and I can help you, too.
PCL Map Collection - Digitized Maps
This links directly to any Texas maps we have digitized.

Virtual Landscapes of Texas This link opens in a new window
Digitized documents related to the landscape of Texas
Provides full text access to the publications related to the landscape of Texas. These public domain documents have been made available through the combined efforts of the TX Treasures program of the Texas State Library, the University of Texas Libraries - Digital Library Services Division: Digitization Center, and the Walter Fund of the UT Geology Foundation.