Updated regularly. Provides indexing for some 400 periodicals, including full text for over 200 titles, in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch offered bibliographic and keyword references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back 1915. It also included cover-to-cover indices of NCA's six journals (from their first editions to the present), and abstracts from their earliest appearance in NCA journals. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies.
A collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. The collection spans time period and region, including coverage of the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary Art. In addition to art history and theory, the collection addresses applied topics such as architectural and graphic design. The breadth of coverage makes this collection integral to both scholarship and technique, providing access to the seminal artists and works who continue to inspire the artists, architects, designers and critics of today.
1929 - present (full text varies by title). Unlimited users. Usage Rights
The collection includes over 600 full-text journals, 200 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images. Provides the most up-to-date coverage of fine and decorative arts, commercial art, architecture, archaeology, design, and museum studies. An ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
Updated six times a year. Provides abstracts of the current literature of modern art, photography and design. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry and illustration, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. The database corresponds to the print ARTbibliographies Modern.
To find information about an artist, try browse indexes then select the subject/artist index.
Provides access to a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Includes historical articles, newspapers, religious pamphlets, broadsides, historical books, letters, short stories, poems, advertisements, and more. The content is in Spanish (80%) and English (20%), and is searchable in both languages. Materials are drawn from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
Updated quarterly. Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present and contemporary art worldwide. Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. Bibliography of the History of Art includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art).
Indexes scholarly literature on Western art and is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
The database will grow by 18,000 records per year, ensuring unbroken coverage of journals that were indexed in BHA and IBA prior to 2010. The initial data set created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-2009 covers scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years, and in some cases the new ProQuest indexing will also cover retrospective years in order to fill gaps in coverage.
Publications covered include at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.
Updated monthly. Contains over 750,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. Includes links to the full text of 61 journals.
Recognised as one of the greatest achievements of twentieth-century scholarship, the Bibliography of American Literature describes in exhaustive detail the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930. More than 37,000 works are listed, essentially the complete printed record of American literature from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Many of the works indexed in the Bibliography of American Literature are available in the full text literary database Literature Online (LION).
Updated biweekly. A searchable collection of poetry and fiction from every Caribbean country produced during the 19th and 20th centuries. Titles include numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. The database currently has over 10,000 pages.
Updated regularly. Brings together more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States. Includes nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Users will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. Currently has over 106,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama.
Updated regularly. Literature Online is a fully searchable library of over 350,000 full-text works of English and American literature. Includes several literary databases of poetry, plays and fiction as well as general reference works and links to other Internet sites. Coverage of literary criticism includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-present (from the Modern Humanities Research Association) and 383 Full-Text Journals (from Literature Online/ProQuest).
Updated regularly. Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
Available only in the University of Texas Libraries on library work stations.
Based on the 6-volume Motif index (1955-1957 rev.) by Stith Thompson, this tool classifies and indexes motifs (such as characters, actions, or events) in folk literature, including folk-tales, ballads, myths, fables, medieval romances, exempla, fabliaux, jest-books, and local legends. It is useful in art, literature, anthropology and other disciplines. The index is an elaborate classification of these motifs into broad categories and will refer to pieces of literature where these motifs occur.
Provides free access to public domain music scores and music scores of contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge. IMSLP follows Canadian copyright laws because the two main IMSLP servers are physically hosted in Canada.
IMSLP stands for the International Music Score Library Project and was started in 2006. The logo on the main page is a capital letter A. It was taken from the beginning of the very first printed book of music, the Harmonice Musices Odhecaton. It was published in Venice in 1501 by Ottaviano Petrucci, the library's namesake.
Updated quarterly. Contains records describing articles in over 640 international periodicals in the field of music and related disciplines. Includes book reviews, recording and performance reviews, and obituaries.
Provides access to a streaming audio collection that supports the teaching and research of music. It currently includes access to over 7 million tracks from almost 70,000 albums, with new titles added each month. Music Online: Listening provides coverage in breadth and depth across all the key musical genres:
Classical: All major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.
Jazz: All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz, and more.
World: Music from 169 countries and more than 1,000 cultural groups.
American: Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing.
Popular: Wide range of popular music from around the world that is not available in our genre-specific collections.
Updated regularly until completion. Scheduled to contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors.
Performances will cover the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century.
Specially developed controlled vocabularies let users browse by composer, genre, performer, ensemble, time period, and role.
Updated daily. An international directory for the performing arts. Provides contact and general information for artists, managers, orchestras, opera companies, dance companies, festivals, performing arts series, service organizations, competitions, music schools, and more. Also includes daily feature articles, as well as general articles, that discuss music in the 21st century.
Updated semi-annually. The Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM: Repertoire International de la Presse Musicale) indexes articles from over 60 international 19th and 20th-century music periodicals in all major languages. Citations include author and title of article, periodical data, and a brief note of contents (e.g., "review"). Annotations or abstracts are not included. Includes writings about composers, performers, and compositions, and provides a documentary history of 19th-century music and musical life.
Updated monthly. Produced by the RILM International Center at the City University of New York Graduate Center, this database is an international bibliography on music and related disciplines with citations to books, articles, videos, bibliographies, ethnographic recordings, dissertations, e-publications, films, catalogues, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, Festschriften, conference proceedings, reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals if they are of scholarly interest. Indexes and abstracts over 500 scholarly journals and contains records in over 100 languages (titles and abstracts are in English). Print version also available.
Updated semi-annually. The International Inventory of Musical Sources (RISM: Repertoire International des Sources Musicales) represents a worldwide effort to identify and describe the world's musical sources. "Music Manuscripts after 1600" contains bibliographic records for more than 456,000 works by over 18,000 composers found in manuscripts in over 680 libraries in 31 countries. Includes the RISM Libraries Sigla Directory (names, addresses and more about 6,200 libraries world-wide that hold music materials relevant to the various RISM series), the RISM Bibliographic Citations Database (references for all thematic catalogs and other secondary sources cited in RISM), and the RISM Composer Database (names of over 25,000 composers as used in RISM).
Updated monthly. Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Publications include Film Journal International, Journal of British Cinema & Television, Film Criticism, Post Script, Variety, as well as technical publications such as SMPTE. Mirroring the international film & television industries and cultures, FTLI also includes publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Filmihullu, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio.
Updated daily. Provides a searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), and selected content from PBS and FOX News. Digitized news broadcasts and special news-related programming from CNN, such as political campaigns, news conferences, and presidential speeches, are viewable with the RealOne media player. In the Advanced search you can exclude the News segments and see only the commercials.
Also includes more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001.
Updated regularly. Compiled by specialist researchers at the American Film Institute (AFI), this is one of the main resources for American films providing an exhaustive view of American features produced between 1893 and 1974. Includes full production and cast information, plus extensive plot summaries and production notes by AFI experts on each motion picture covered. Records are updated twice yearly with TV and movie adaptations and life details on previously released films.
The AFI Catalog documents nearly 48,000 films produced in the United States or financed by American companies. More than 17,500 entries cover the early years of American film from 1893 to 1910.
Also included is a full listing of the Top 10 films from 2000 forward. The AFI records the year's most outstanding achievements in film and honours these at the annual AFI Awards. The site includes information on the chosen films listed in alphabetical order within each year the film was premiered.
An online streaming video collection of nearly 600 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. Offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection curated by film scholars and critics, viewers can explore the impact of globalization and urbanization on people’s everyday lives throughout the greater Asian region. Twenty-four countries across the region are represented, with a strong concentration on China, India, Iran, South Korea, and Southeast Asia.
Updated regularly. Provides indexing of over 125,000 films. Coverage starts with the first silent movies and continues until the present day. Includes biographical information for more than 800,000 personalities. Also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi), the database is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years.
Search this database along with its two companion databases (AFI (American Film Institute) Catalog and FIAF Index to Film Periodicals) at the Screen Studies Collection.
Updated annually. Fully indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries and selectively indexes 200 other titles for articles on film and television. Titles range from the scholarly to the popular. Includes more than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The National Endowment for the Humanities awarded Indiana University a grant in 2002 to convert the print version of the Film Literature Index to electronic form. Contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews.
A collection of feature films containing over 1,100 scripts, many of which have never been published. Volume I covers American classic cinema, and Volume II expands into international and contemporary films. Includes detailed indexing on scenes, characters, and people. Supplemental information includes short biographies on the writers, and awards given to individual films have been noted. Film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.
Highlights the work of women filmmakers in the silent-era of early cinema. Short biographies cover each woman's career and include a selected bibliography and filmography list. Overview essays provide additional context on the early cinema industry.
Updated weekly. Provides access to information about movies (including those made for television) from across the world, starting with the earliest cinema through the latest releases and titles still in production. Covers over 170,479 titles with over 2,462,516 filmography entries, including major actors, minor bit players and crew members.