Articles in Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers - CE 301 - Civil Engineering Systems - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Finding Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Articles

For help in finding articles (journal, magazine, and newspaper), we recommend using indexing tools. Some indexes only index but some include text for indexed articles. Always, though, you should see the citation for the article. This helps find the text for the article in the UT subscriptions.

We think of articles for several situations in this class:

For a very new building project, this may be one of the few sources.
We expect articles to have the newest information on a research topic.
For an older building project that is not so well known; you will probably need to go back to look for articles from when the project was built.
When the project is very well known, you may find newer articles looking back historically and also find articles from when the project was built.

Here are databases we especially recommend:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This is our favorite all-around indexing tool. It has good coverage of the literature of civil engineering and lots of full text. Its strength is more for newer projects and for big-name projects.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Research Library This link opens in a new window
This product indexes publications of the ASCE and we have full text for most of them. Well focused for this class. Also includes conference papers.
Updated weekly. Provide full text access to all publications of the ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers), including all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters.
Provides full text access to all 30 journals published by the ASCE. Represents a premier source of technical information for the civil engineering profession and form the core collection in the field.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature of architecture. Some projects are better known for their architectural characteristics and are discussed in architecture journals.
Updated weekly. Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes obituary citations.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature of engineering. Does not have full text, so be sure to use "Find it @ UT." This tool is particularly important for lesser known older projects and when you want to see what was written about a project as it was being developed.
Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A full text news service. Can be helpful for those very new projects.
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A full text service; can be helpful for very new projects.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Effective January 1, 2018, Nexis Uni™ replaces LexisNexis Academic.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature of the history of Canada and the United States. Provides a different approach to historical engineering topics.
Updated regularly. Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Covers books, book reviews, journals and dissertations. Also reviews films and video projects. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.

The Libraries offer many other databases which index articles. There's a big list.

"Find it at UT"

Click on "Find it at UT" (or on an icon with similar text) to link to the electronic text of a journal article. Sometimes, the linking won't work out and you should see information about how to obtain a copy of the material.

Get a Scan

To request a copy of a paper you don't find, go to the Get a Scan form.