Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

TC 302 : Art, Sport, and the Meaning of Life - Smith

Library Resources: Using Databases

Types of Databases

UT has databases that can help you locate a wide variety of sources, including news articles, scholarly articles, images, videos, etc. You can search in databases that are multidisciplinary or subject-specific:

Type of Database About Start Here

Multidisciplinary

  • Include popular and scholarly articles on all topics
  • Useful if scholars from multiple disciplines would write about your topic or if you don't know where to start
  • Great for assignments in UGS!

 

Academic Search Complete

 

Subject-specific

  • Include scholarly and specialized articles from a specific discipline
  • Think about what department on campus would have scholars researching your topic (ex. PsycINFO for Psychology).

Databases List (use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu)

Find Articles on a Topic

If you don't have a specific article already in mind and just need items for your topic, think about: 

  • What kind of information you need on your topic, 
  • Who would write about it,
  • Where those articles would be published. 

Newspapers and popular magazines are good sources for current events and controversies. Scholarly journals publish articles reporting research results or reviewing existing research findings.

Example: You are writing a paper about immigration debates in America. You want to explore current news coverage and find information from experts about policy debates. 

What you need: Who would write it: Where it would be published:
Current news coverage on immigration debates Journalists news magazines, newspapers, podcasts
Policy debate information from experts  Scholars scholarly journals
 

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Find an Article from a Citation

Guide on the Side - Find Articles from a Citation

Use this guide to find an article when you already have a specific citation. 

Where is the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click Find it to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get scan to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.