Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

EE 333T - Engineering Communication - Wuster

Find Articles

Find Articles

Reference sources can help you find and develop a research topic by providing background information, facts, statistics, dates and other general information on most topics. 

Recommended Library Databases:

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library is database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources to help find background information and define your topic. 
     
  • CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Examples include: Video Games and Learning, Robotic Warfare, Managing Nuclear Waste, Domestic Drones, BP Oil Spill, Genetically Modified Food, Fracking, Synthetic Biology, 3D Printing, Organ Donations, Wind Power, Modernizing the Grid, Energy Policy, Nuclear Power, Managing Nuclear Waste, High Speed Trains, and more.

Books can provide a very comprehensive view of a topic; see Find Books for more information.

Wikipedia can be helpful in finding background information, keywords and major concepts.  Check out this quick video on Using Wikipedia for Academic Research.  This is another great (and quick) video on Credible Websites.

Government websites are a wealth of information and can include technical reports, statistics, data, legal cases, patents, case studies, and much more.  

           Tip: Search Google and filter your results by .gov (or .mil).

 

To find the complete list of all our Databases go to www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases

Multidisciplinary:

  • Academic Search Complete: A comprehensive and scholarly database containing magazine, newspaper, and journal articles from across disciplines.  
     
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles.


Subject-specific: Engineering

  • IEEE Xplore: full-text access to IEEE & IET journals, conference proceedings, & current IEEE standards.  IEEE Xplore: Search vs. Research - 4 minute video.
     
  • Inspec: abstracts to worldwide literature of physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computing and control, and information technology
     
  • ACM - (Association for Computing Machinery) - Covers all areas of computer science including computer technology, artificial intelligence, human-computer interaction (HCI), usability, network technologies, the IT profession, programming languages, operating systems, distributed systems, data management, data mining, big data, web design, web services, social media, and all areas of information and systems security
     
  • SAE Digital Library  (Society of Automotive Engineers) - Cites mobility information used in designing, building, maintaining, and operating self-propelled vehicles for use on land or sea, in air or space; also includes accident reconstruction and occupant protection and safety.
     
  • SPIE Digital Library: resources for the subject areas of optics, photonics and imaging.
     
  • ASME Digital Library: online access to all available volumes of the technical journals of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and to ASME conference papers starting with 2002.
     
  • Compendex: Contains more than 11 million citations with abstracts from more than 5,600 journals, reports and conference proceedings covering fields of engineering and technology.

 

Subject-specific: Medicine
 

  • PubMed -  Provides access to over 10 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.
    • Create and customize a My NCBI account.
    • Select My NCBI
    • Select NCBI Site Preferences
    • Under PubMed Preferences, select Outside Tool
    • Select F and scroll down to select Find it@UT
    • Scroll to the bottom of the page and SAVE
    • This will cause references to display the  link to our holdings.

 

Subject-specific: Education

Websites:

Journals:

 



Where is the full-text?  

Click to get it from another database or in print at the Libraries.

 


InterLibrary Services (ILS): will obtain books, article photocopies, and other material not owned by the University of Texas libraries.  

 

1. Background information

  • Wikipedia - encyclopedia (authors are anonymous, vetted (maybe) by the public)
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (written by experts, vetted by editors) 
  • Books - Check out Find Books for more information 
  • Government websites

2. Find articles using the library's amazing databases:

www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases

Searching Tips:

  • Use keywords and synonyms 
    • Think of the official or scientific terms for common words e.g. "unmanned aircraft" for drones or "hydraulic fracturing" for fracking. 
       
  • Avoid abbreviations
    • use "mobile application" rather than "mobile app"
       
  • Spell out acronyms, especially if they have common other meanings
    • Search "near field communications" rather than NFC (e.g. National Football Conference; National Finance Center)
    • NOTE: Some acronyms are very established in the EE literature e.g. RFID is more commonly used by engineers than "radio frequency identification."  When in doubt, search using both terms.
       
  • Add additional terms to refine your results
    • "near field communication" AND security


       
  • Try to avoid generic words like pros and cons
    • ​If you need articles related to GMOs and their benefit to society consider using terms like “agricultural productivity” or hunger.  If you are lacking information on the negative side try adding terms like health risks" or environmental.

Example search results: 


There is no one “right” way to search. These are just a few tips and suggestions, if you are having trouble finding information – email me! I can help with choosing keywords or recommend databases and other resources.

Ask for help if you 

  • can't finding enough material on your topic
  • can't locate the full text of an article
  • can't find a book or are having problems with an e-book
Loading

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.