Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Finding NASA & NACA Reports

Locating NASA Reports in the Library

Locating NASA Reports in the Library

The Engineering Library has a large collection of NASA reports in print and microfiche; if you don't see the report you need listed in the catalog, you should check the microfiche collection.

But first check the NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) - over 300,000 full-text items are available in PDF format.

Online via NTRS In Print MICROFICHE
Technical Report (TR) R-1 (1959) R-475 (1977)
TL 521 A335
Library Storage (Engineering Collection)

NA

Technical Notes (TN) D-1 (1959) to D-8529 (1977)
TL 521 A333 
Library Storage (Engineering Collection)
NA
Technical Memorandum (TM)

X-23 (1959) to 108574
TL 521 A331
Library Storage (Engineering Collection)

Previous Title:
NASA memorandum (1958-1959)
629.13072 UN3M
Library Storage (Engineering Collection)

Cabinet: 
NASA TM

USDOC number: 
NAS1.15:

Contractor Report (CR)

** No. 2 to No. 182126
TL 521 A33
Library Storage (Engineering Collection) 

 

**Some NASA reports are held at other UT libraries and may be cataloged by title.

Cabinet: 
NASA CR

USDOC number: 
NAS1.26:

Technical Translation (TT)

TL 521 A338
Library Storage (Engineering Collection)
[Incomplete see Catalog and **Additional records]

Previous Title:
NASA republication.
TL 521 A336
Library Storage (Engineering Library) 

Cabinet: 
NASA TT

USDOC number: 
NAS1.77:

Special Publication (SP) SP-1 (1967) to SP-9000 
TL 521 A337
Library Storage (Engineering Collection)

Cabinet: 
NASA SP

USDOC number: 
NAS1.21:

Conference Publication (CP)

Various call numbers.

Search the catalog by title and type nasa conference publication [report number]

Cabinet: 
NASA CP

USDOC number: 
NAS1.55:

Reference Publication (RP) 1001 (1979) to 1372
TL 787 U5494
Library Storage (Engineering Collection)

Cabinet: 
NASA RP

USDOC number: 
NAS1.61:

Technical Paper (TP)

** 1001 (1977) to 3347 (1993)
TL 787 N3839
Library Storage (Engineering Collection)

**Some NASA reports are held at other UT libraries and may be cataloged by title.

Cabinet: 
NASA TP

USDOC number: 
NAS1.60:

NASA - CASE

(search NTRS and limit to patent under document type)

NA

Cabinet: 
NASA-CASE

USDOC number:
NAS 1.71:

Tech Briefs

T 1 N3855 v.1 to v.37
PCL Stacks or Library Storage (Engineering Collection) 

Previous Title: 
NASA Tech Brief
TL 521 A334 no. 63 to no. 78 
Library Storage (Engineering Collection)

NA

Aeronautics and Space Report of the President

 

 

Full-text 1958-present

TL 789.8 U5 A58 1971-2001
Library Storage (Engineering Collection)
NA

 

Technical Memorandum (TM) - Scientific and technical findings that are preliminary or of specialized interest, e.g., quick release reports, working papers and bibliographies that contain minimal annotation. Does not contain extensive analysis.

Contractor Report (CR) - Scientific and technical findings by NASA-sponsored contractors and grantees.

Conference Publications (CP) - Collected papers from scientific and technical conferences, symposia, seminars or other meetings sponsored or cosponsored by NASA.

Special Publication (SP) - Scientific, technical or historical information from NASA programs, projects and missions, often concerned with subjects having substantial public interest.

Technical Translation (TT) - English-language translations of foreign scientific and technical material pertinent to NASA's mission.

Aeronautics and Space Report of the President - The annual "President's Report" is a good summary of the Government's aerospace activities each year. Mandated by law, it contains information on aerospace activities conducted by 14 Federal departments and agencies, as well as appendices containing useful historical data on spacecraft launches and budget figures.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.