Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Artists' Books at the Fine Arts Library

A guide to finding artists' books at the Fine Arts Library

Artists' Books at FAL

Artists' Books at the Fine Arts Library

The artists’ books at the Fine Arts Library are part of the FAL Artists' Publication collection. This collection includes other artistic creations, including zines. There are over 200 titles of artists' books that vary in materials, aesthetic styles, and subject matter, created by artists from all over the world. This guide will help you find works in our collection, locate resources about artists’ books, and learn about other collections.

 

This collection is unique as some artists' books are circulating and available for checkout, located in the open stacks. Artists’ books located in the Stacks will be on the fifth floor and have a call number that starts with the following: N.7433.4. The visual stacks guide will also help you find artists' books and related works. A large part of the collection is non circulating due to rarity or fragility. If you are interested in viewing these items marked as Special Collections, please contact the circulation desk or Art Librarian Becca Pad.

Highlights From The Collection

What Is An Artists' Book?

Artists’ books are works of art that utilize the form of the book as an artistic medium. Artists may use the traditional format of a book to conceptually explore an idea. Many artists challenge the idea of the book format and use

a variety of different materials, forms, and binding techniques.  Artists’ books are associated with art movements like Fluxus, Futurism, Dada, and Surrealism. Although this medium became prevalent in the 1960s and 1970s, examples of book art, like William Blake’s 1789 Songs of Innocence and Experience, are present throughout history.

Librarian

Rebecca Pad's picture
Rebecca Pad
Contact:
Fine Arts Library
DFA 3.214
512-495-4476

Acknowledgements

This guide was created by Laura Gienger in Spring 2017 as part of her I School capstone project.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.