Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

U.S. Latinx LGBTQ Studies

U.S. Latinx LGBTQ Collection

U.S. Latinx LGBTQ Collection

The U.S. Latinx LGBTQ Collection utilizes a digital note in library catalog records to increase searchability of the Libraries' holdings of U.S. Latinx Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies. The original list was made possible by a 2015 bibliography compiled by the American Library Association's GLBTRT Resources Committee.

The collection will be updated once per semester with new records, whether new purchases or works that I overlooked in my initial search. 

How to search the U.S. Latinx LGBTQ Collection: When using the library catalog, do a keyword search for "Latinx LGBTQ Collection." All titles that are a part of this list will carry that note in their records. 

A comment on terminology: for the purposes of this collection, my goal was to include works that give attention to Latinx LGBTQ communities in the United States. However, please note that some of the works are more broad in scope than others. For instance, some texts delve into Latin America, while others discuss diverse LGBTQ communities throughout the United States. Moreover, I chose to employ the term "Latinx" in this LibGuide for its gender-neutral possibility in the hopes of being more inclusive of intersecting identities among Latin American descendants. "Latinx" promotes fluidity and seeks to move beyond binary thinking. 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.