Updated regularly. Provides indexing of over 125,000 films. Coverage starts with the first silent movies and continues until the present day. Includes biographical information for more than 800,000 personalities. Also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi), the database is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years.
Search this database along with its two companion databases (AFI (American Film Institute) Catalog and FIAF Index to Film Periodicals) at the Screen Studies Collection.
Updated regularly. Compiled by specialist researchers at the American Film Institute (AFI), this is one of the main resources for American films providing an exhaustive view of American features produced between 1893 and 1974. Includes full production and cast information, plus extensive plot summaries and production notes by AFI experts on each motion picture covered. Records are updated twice yearly with TV and movie adaptations and life details on previously released films.
The AFI Catalog documents nearly 48,000 films produced in the United States or financed by American companies. More than 17,500 entries cover the early years of American film from 1893 to 1910.
Also included is a full listing of the Top 10 films from 2000 forward. The AFI records the year's most outstanding achievements in film and honours these at the annual AFI Awards. The site includes information on the chosen films listed in alphabetical order within each year the film was premiered.
Updated monthly. Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Publications include Film Journal International, Journal of British Cinema & Television, Film Criticism, Post Script, Variety, as well as technical publications such as SMPTE. Mirroring the international film & television industries and cultures, FTLI also includes publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Filmihullu, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio.
Updated quarterly. Contains records for all types of material on Mexican-American topics and Chicanos. Since 1992, the Chicano Database covers material on the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Lantern is the search platform for the collections of the Media History Digital Library, an open access initiative led by David Pierce and Eric Hoyt. The Media History Digital Library (MHDL) digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning. Lantern searches an index of over 800,000 documents.
Provides access to a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Includes historical articles, newspapers, religious pamphlets, broadsides, historical books, letters, short stories, poems, advertisements, and more. The content is in Spanish (80%) and English (20%), and is searchable in both languages. Materials are drawn from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
Provides access to a large compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes many newspapers published bilingually in Spanish and English. Features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project", a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.