Do bi- and multilinguals perceive themselves differently in their respective languages? Do they experience different emotions? How do they express emotions and do they have a favourite language for emotional expression? How are emotion words and concepts represented in the bi- and multilingual lexicons? This ground-breaking book opens up a new field of study, bilingualism and emotions, and provides intriguing answers to these and many related questions.
Psycholinguistics - the field of science that examines the mental processes and knowledge structures involved in the acquisition, comprehension, and production of language - had a strong monolingual orientation during the first four decades following its emergence around 1950. The awareness that a large part of mankind speaks more than one language - that this may impact both on the way each individual language is used and on the thought processes of bilinguals and multilinguals, and that, consequently, our theories on human linguistic ability and its role in non-linguistic cognition are incomplete and, perhaps, false - has led to a steep growth of studies on bilingualism and multilingualism since around 1995. This textbook introduces the reader to the field of study that examines language acquisition, comprehension and production from the perspective of the bilingual and multilingual speaker. It furthermore provides an introduction to studies that investigate the implications of being bilingual on various aspects of non-linguistic cognition. The major topics covered are the development of language in children growing up in a bilingual environment either from birth or relatively soon after, late foreign language learning, and word recognition, sentence comprehension, speech production, and translation processes in bilinguals. Furthermore, the ability of bilinguals and multilinguals to generally produce language in the "intended" language is discussed, as is the cognitive machinery that enables this. Finally, the consequences of bilingualism and multilingualism for non-linguistic cognition and findings and views regarding the biological basis of bilingualism and multilingualism are presented.
Multiple Voices: An Introduction to Bilingualism provides a comprehensive overview of all major features of bilingualism, including grammatical, cognitive, and social aspects. examines bilingualism as a socio-political phenomenon and emphasizes languages in contact, language maintenance and shift, language policy, and bilingual education includes many detailed examples from all over the world written accessibly for students with little or no background in linguistics by a prominent bilingualism researcher
Because dual language learners are the fastest-growing segment of the U.S. student population--and the majority speak Spanish as a first language--the new generation of SLPs must have comprehensive knowledge of how to work effectively with bilingual speakers. That's what they'll get in the second edition of this book, an ideal graduate-level text and an essential resource for every practicing SLP. Fully updated with five new chapters on hot topics (see below), an expanded age range that includes infants and toddlers, and cutting-edge research findings, this book arms SLPs with the most current information on language development and disorders of Spanish-English bilingual children. More than 25 leading researchers give SLPs in-depth, high-level coverage of a broad range of critical topics, including social-cultural factors affecting language acquisition diagnosis of language disorders effective professional development infant/toddler language development first language loss bilingual lexical development semantic development verbal morphology and vocabulary morphosyntactic development code-switching grammatical impairments narrative development and disorders phonological development and disorders fluency SLPs will have the sophisticated knowledge they need to accurately distinguish language disorders from typical bilingual development, and they'll get a complete language intervention framework they can use as a guide for their own practice. Whether used as a graduate text or a trusted reference, this book will help SLPs fully understand the complexity of language development in bilingual children, diagnose disorders accurately, and conduct effective assessment and intervention for the growing number of Spanish-English bilingual speakers.
This book is divided into three main topical sections: (1) Parent-child construction of narrative, which focuses on aspects of the social interaction that facilitate oral narrative development in Spanish-speaking children; (2) Developing independent narration by Spanish-speaking children; and (3) Narrative links between Latino children's oral narration and their emergent literacy and other school achievements. Chapters address narration to and by Latino children aged six months to eleven years old and in low, middle, and upper socioeconomic groups. Nationalities of speakers include the following: Costa Rican, Dominican, Ecuadorian, Mexican, Peruvian, Puerto Rican, Venezuelan, and Spanish-English bilingual children who are citizens or residents of the United States. Narratives studied include those in conversations, personal and fictional stories, and those prompted by wordless picture books or videos. Thus, the current project includes diverse nationalities, socioeconomic backgrounds, and genres of narrative.
This half-hour episode of English in America explores Latin@ communities. In the late 20th and early 21st centuries, America has seen an upsurge in immigration, much as it did at the dawn of the 20th. Investigate the effects of immigrants from Latin America on American English, and confront a fear facing some native speakers of American English: Is Spanish taking over, and do we need language policies to prevent this? Also explore the native English varieties developed by people of Latin American descent in the U.S.
Negron examines how New York City Latinos negotiate between multiple ethnic identifications. She finds no one-to-one relationship between biographical ethnicity and the use of language and other ethnic markers. Through linguistic flexibility, cross-cultural fluency, and negotiating aspects of personal image, individuals deploy ethnicity in creative and unexpected ways. The reasons for switching ethnic categories range from the relatively minor (getting free drinks), to the quotidian (connecting with friends), to the vital (making a sale). Negron's work calls into question the validity of ethno-racial categories used in surveys like the Census. She argues that patterns of self-identification are based on a complex interplay among interactional, cognitive, and situational factors as well as personal predispositions and skills.
Bilingualism has given rise to significant changes in Spanish-speaking countries. In the US, the increasing importance of Spanish has engendered an English-only movement; in Peru, contact between Spanish and Quechua has brought about language change; and in Iberia, speakers of Basque, Galician and Catalan have made their languages a compulsory part of school curricula and local government. This book provides an introduction to bilingualism in the Spanish-speaking world, looking at topics such as language contact, bilingual societies, bilingualism in schools, code-switching, language transfer, the emergence of new varieties of Spanish, and language choice - and how all of these phenomena affect the linguistic and cognitive development of the speaker. Using examples and case studies drawn primarily from Spanish/English bilinguals in the US, Spanish/Quechua bilinguals in Peru and Spanish/Basque bilinguals in Spain, it provides diverse perspectives on the experience of being bilingual in distinct cultural, political and socioeconomic contexts.