A comprehensive resource that covers the highly diverse field of applied linguistics. The encyclopedia covers the philosophy and history of applied linguistics, discusses historic and emerging areas of research within the field, and provides biographies of key applied linguists.
It includes over 1,100 entries covering 27 key areas of the field, including:
This online encyclopedia provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields. The encyclopedia includes over 3,900 articles that discuss history, current trends and future directions. Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading.
Contains reference material covering the following disciplines:
Explores the ways that editorial content (from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials) is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. Addresses topics in three broad categories: (1) the spectrum of media (newspapers, magazines, television, cable, radio, books, advertising, movies, videos, tapes and CDs, and online) and the status of the media in countries around the globe; (2) the development and use of communications technology, from the telephone and telegraph to computers and facsimile to fiber optics and satellites; (3) concepts that regulate the content and flow of information, such as censorship, copyright, and libel.
Provides online access to all 12 volumes of the print reference work with updates made to the online edition. Features 1,339 newly-commissioned A-Z entries, divided into 29 editorial areas representing major fields of inquiry, each of which is headed by a leading expert in their respective field spanning the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Jointly published with the International Communication Association (ICA).
Updated quarterly. Contains records for all types of material on Mexican-American topics and Chicanos. Since 1992, the Chicano Database covers material on the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.