Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

GRG 344K/LAS 330 - Global Food, Farming & Hunger

Reports

World Banana Forum

The WBF has three main Working Groups (WG) which address the most urgent sustainability challenges:

WG01 | Sustainable Production Systems and Environmental Impact (environmental sustainability) Promotes the sustainable management of natural resources, mitigation of environmental impacts and adaptation to climate change.

WG02 | Distribution of Value (economic sustainability) Works towards a fairer distribution of value along the whole banana supply chain.

WG03 | Labour Rights (social sustainability) Promotes the respect for human rights: labour rights, occupational health and safety at work, gender equity and decent work.

 

Resources

 
The Banana Market Review, issued once a year, contains information and analysis on global banana trade, including imports, exports, prices and policy changes. Information and data comes from various sources, including FAO member nations, traders and the world press.
 
The Banana Statistical compendium, issued once a year, contains information on global banana trade. Its sources include information provided by FAO member nations, traders, news bulletins and the opinions of commodity specialists and represents the most authoritative and up-to-date source of information on the world banana economy.

Livestock and Poultry: World Markets and Trade

This biannual report, published in April and October, report includes data on U.S. and global trade, production, consumption and stocks, as well as analysis of developments affecting world trade in livestock and poultry. Covers beef and veal, cattle, pork, swine and broiler meat.

•    Current Report
•    Past Reports (USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System)

International Cocoa Organization

The International Cocoa Organization (ICCO) is a global organization, composed of both cocoa producing and cocoa consuming member countries. Now located in Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire, the ICCO was established in 1973 to put into effect the first International Cocoa Agreement which was negotiated in Geneva at a United Nations International Cocoa Conference. There have since been seven Agreements. The Seventh International Cocoa Agreement, negotiated in 2010 in Geneva, came into force provisionally in October 2012.

International Coffee Organization 1963 - 2013

The International Coffee Organization was established in 1963 when the first International Coffee Agreement (ICA) entered into force in 1962 for a period of five years, and it has continued to operate under successive Agreements negotiated since then.ICO - International Coffee Organization - Statistics

 

 

This biannual report, published in June and December, includes data on U.S. and global trade, production, consumption and stocks, as well as analysis of developments affecting world trade in coffee.
•    Current Report
•    Past Reports (USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information Syste
m)

Grain: World Markets & Trade

This monthly report includes data on U.S. and global trade, production, consumption and stocks, as well as analysis of developments affecting world trade in grains. Covers wheat, rice and coarse grains (corn, barley, sorghum, oats and rye).

Sugar: World Markets and Trade

This biannual report, published in May and November, includes data on U.S. and global trade, production, consumption and stocks, as well as analysis of developments affecting world trade in sugar.

 

International Sugar Organization

Oilseeds: World Markets and Trade

This monthly report includes data on U.S. and global trade, production, consumption and stocks, as well as analysis of developments affecting world trade in oilseeds. Covers oilseeds (copra, cottonseed, palm kernel, peanut, rapeseed, soybean and sunflower seed), meal (copra, cottonseed, fish, palm kernel, peanut, rapeseed, soybean and sunflower seed) and oil (coconut, cottonseed, olive, palm, palm kernel, peanut, rapeseed, soybean and sunflower seed).

•    Current Report
•    Past Reports (USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System)

 

USSEC - U.S. Soybean Export Council

Resources: Reports & White papers

  • U.S. Food Soybean Quality Report
  • U.S. Commodity Soybean Quality Report

FAO - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations:

Vanilla is a major natural flavor widely used in many products including foods, beverages, pharmaceuticals, cosmetics and tobacco. Vanilla seed pods are cultivated in many areas of the world but the main producing countries are China, the Comoros, Indonesia, Madagascar and Mexico, where the crop originated. Cultivation is highly labor intensive and the vanilla vines have very exacting requirements; warm, humid conditions, appropriate shade with soils rich in organic matter but with adequate drainage.

Organization: Instituto Tecnologico de Veracruz (ITVER), Mexico
AuthorJavier De La Cruz Medina, Guadalupe C. Rodriguez Jiménes, and Hugo S. García

Vanilla: Post-harvest Operations

Loading

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.