Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

HED 335 - Theories of Substance Use and Abuse

Scholarly Articles

Primary vs. Seconday Sources

Primary Sources

A primary source provides direct or firsthand evidence about an event, object, person, or work of art. In the natural and social sciences, primary sources are often empirical studies—research where an experiment was performed or a direct observation was made. The results of empirical studies are typically found in scholarly articles or papers delivered at conferences.

 

Secondary Sources

Secondary sources describe, discuss, interpret, comment upon, analyze, evaluate, summarize, and process primary sources. Secondary source materials can be articles in newspapers or popular magazines, book or movie reviews, or articles found in scholarly journals that discuss or evaluate someone else's original research.

 

Learn more here: Primary and Secondary Sources, Ithaca College Library

Recommended Databases

To perform a multi-database search of EBSCO databases, start with the link above. Once you are on the search page, click "Choose Databases" and select additional databases to search, such as:

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • MEDLINE
  • Education Source

Other databases to try:

Loading ...

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click Find it to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get scan to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.