Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

EE 333T - Engineering Communication - Fagelson

In-Class Handout: Selected Databases

Selected Databases for Engineering Information

Databases compile information:  Some help identify journal articles and conference papers; others might collect industry standards, encyclopedia articles, or statistical information.  See Find Articles Using Databases or the “Databases” tab at the ScoUT Big Box at http://www.lib.utexas.edu.

  Indexes of papers from multiple publishers:

Academic Search Complete: interdisciplinary, good coverage of the applied sciences, full-text emphasis.

Aerospace Database: indexes journal articles; conference papers; and technical reports, including NASA.

America: History and Life: the primary index to research on the history of Canada and the United States.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals: indexes journals and other writings on architecture and design.

Business Source Complete: indexes journals in business, telecommunications, and management.

Compendex /Engineering Index: indexes scholarly journals and conferences in all areas of engineering.  

Dissertation Abstracts: indexes dissertations produced in Canada and the United States.  Many PDFs.

Factiva: full-text service; newspaper and other news coverage; a special focus on business topics.

GeoRef: the primary index of the research literature of geology.

INSPEC: indexes the scholarly literature of physics, electrical engineering, and computer engineering.

MEDLINE: the primary index for medical literature, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine. (PubMed uses the interface of the National Library of Medicine for much of the same content.)

Nexis Uni: a full-text service, specializing in newspapers and other news services.  Also legal content.

SciFinder Scholar: the primary index to the research literature of chemistry.

TRID: for transportation research, from the Transportation Research Board.

 

Indexes featuring papers from single publishers or special groups:

ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library: computer science research.

      ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals: content from the major society in chemistry research.

Aerospace Research Central /AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics) Electronic Library: AIAA conference papers and journal articles to the group’s founding in 1963.

ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Publications: online journals and research library.

ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Library: ASME content.

EarthDoc, the geoscience database of EAGE (European Association of Geoscientists & Engineers).

IEEE Xplore: indexing and full-text of IEEE publications back through 1988, with many older items.

MRS(Materials Research Society) Online Proceedings Library:  conference and journal content.

SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers) Mobilus: indexes SAE papers; full-text from 1906.

SPIE - The International society for Optics and Photonics: full-text from 1900.

OnePetro - SPE (Society of Petroleum Engineers) Papers: 100,000 papers, full-text from 1927 to date.  Also with indexing to content – plus more-and-more full-text -- from closely related societies.

 

Special databases:

ASM products: materials information, including the Handbooks and Alloy Phase Diagrams Center.

APA Style Guide to Electronic Resources: aid in formatting electronic references in APA Style.

CINDAS: properties and behaviors of materials: Aerospace Structural Metals DatabaseMicroelectronics Packaging Materials Database, and Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database

CQ Researcher: in-depth reports on important societal issues.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL): indexes articles from special encyclopedias, with full-text of articles.

Google Books: indexing – as never before – to the contents (bibliographies, too) of books.  A wonderful tool.

Industry Standards: subscriptions with ASTM, AASHTO, IEEE, ACI, and others.

Journal Citation Reports: complements Web of Science by identifying most cited journals by subject area.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology: reliable descriptive information on engineering topics.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context: articles, editorials, and other resources to help explain complex issues.

Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online: critically-evaluated phase diagrams in support of ceramics research.

Pivot Funding: searchable databases of funding opportunities -- expected soon.

Statista: the statistics portal.

Web of Science (Science Citation Index): a subject/author index but unique in its cited-reference search, allowing a searcher to see which scientific works have been cited and by whom.

WorldCat Advanced: catalog of materials held by OCLC libraries (most U.S. libraries) plus many others.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.