The Engineering Office is in PCL 6.102 (moving by spring 2018 to EER 1.706). To make sure of our location and that we are available, call (512)-495-4511. E-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
-Library Homepage: The library homepage links to the library catalog, to information about the libraries, to subscriptions, and what library staff members think is important. ScoUT – the BIG BOX on the first page -- can help when you are not sure where to start.
-Guides: Library Guides help with navigating information resources and with using the library pages.
-Library Catalog: The library catalog (also at the “Catalog” tab on the BIG BOX) lists holdings for books, journal titles, and conference proceedings; shows an item’s location; and if it is checked out. There is a Renew option for library materials that qualify. Use Pick It Up to Recall an item checked out to someone else and to have an eligible item brought from one UT-Austin library to another for you. Use Get a Scan at the ILS page for a copy of a paper or chapter.
-Indexes to Articles and Conference Papers: The “Find Articles Using Databases” link (under “Research Tools” on the library homepage) leads to indexing tools. (Another path is through the “Databases” tab in the homepage BIG BOX.) These products go beyond the library catalog and provide additional access to information. Look for the “Find it @ UT” icon for help in linking up to full-text – it doesn’t always find owned text (you should double-check a negative answer) but is a great help.
-Journal Collection: The UT Libraries subscribe to more than 1,000 journals on engineering-related topics. We recommend using “Indexes to Articles” for help in identifying articles. To locate a journal title, check the library catalog and “Find a Journal” (or the “Journals” tab in the BIG BOX).
-Special Databases and Collections:
U.S. and International Patents: Google Patents is an easy place to start and the Engineering Librarians can help with more sophisticated searching.
ESDU: The Engineering Sciences Data Unit (ESDU) service provides validated engineering methods, data, principles, worked examples, programs, and equations on over 1,200 engineering topics.
Industry Standards Collection: ASTM, AASHTO, ACI, API, ASCE, ASHRAE, ASME, ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code, AWS, ICC (building codes), IEEE, IES, and NFPA, are subscription web products. These are listed as “Library Databases."
-Interlibrary Services: When you need an item not owned by the University Libraries, use interlibrary loan. Log in to see the request forms. This unit also coordinates the Get a Scan service.
-Suggest a Purchase: We welcome purchase recommendations. Subscriptions are a funding challenge but we can usually buy books. If UT has electronic and you want print, we will try to get the print.
-Managing Bibliographies: We encourage starting early with organizing the citations for papers you consult. Zotero and EndNote are two of the products that help with organizing research work and then constructing notes and bibliographies during the writing process.
-Library Spaces: All the University Libraries have space for individual studying. For graduate students, PCL has the Scholars Commons. Other options at PCL include collaborative space (5th floor) and the STEM Study Area (entry level).
-Chat, Visit, E-mail, Call: Ask a Librarian is one of the places to find contact information for members of the library staff. We don’t want to over-promise but do want to help when sources seem to be hiding. And, please contact us directly at Engineering: email@example.com and (512)-495-4511.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.