Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

UGS 303: Global Development / Gerring

Find Information with Databases

Choosing a Database

Databases at UT cover a wide range of subjects and contain a wide range of materials, including popular and scholarly articles, newspapers, images, videos, etc. 

Tip: See the Find News and Primary Sources tab for information on where to find interviews, news articles, government documents, and other primary sources. 

You can search in databases that are multidisciplinary or subject-specific:

Type of Database About Start Here

Multidisciplinary

  • Include popular and scholarly articles on all topics
  • Useful if scholars from multiple disciplines would write about your topic or if you don't know where to start
  • Great for assignments in UGS!

 

Academic Search Complete

 

Subject-specific

  • Include scholarly and specialized articles from a specific discipline
  • To choose a database, think about what department on campus would have scholars researching your topic (ex. PsycINFO for Psychology topics)

Databases List (use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu)

 

What are databases?

This video, from RMIT University, explains what a database is...

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

International Relations & Global Studies Guide

Use this guide to find resources, databases, and ways to get help with international studies research: 

International Relations and Global Studies Research Guide 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.