LibGuides: UGS 303: Spectacle as a Political Tool / Sanchez: Home

In Class

Sample Article - Images of Power: Architectures of the Integrated Spectacle at the Beijing Olympics
Take 2 minutes to look over this source. You might read a tiny bit, bit also scroll through and notice the source's characteristics. Think about what kind of source it is and any special characteristics you observe. Answer the questions linked below. (click PDF to see the whole article).
Sample article - questions

End of class

End of class feedback, fall 2020

Quick Links - Databases and keywords

The following are tools we used in class and are great places to start your research.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Find encyclopedia articles and background information.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. A list of sources included in our subscription is available.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Keyword tool
Use this tool to help you brainstorm keywords on your topic.
Articles and More - advanced search
You can also get to this by clicking articles and more on the library homepage and then Advanced.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles, books, and book chapters.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Guide Overview

Use this guide to help you with your research assignment for this course. The tools and resources you find here can help you with other coursework and projects here at UT. You'll find the following in this guide:

How to start your research by developing a topic, finding background information, and developing keywords
How to find information such as scholarly articles and news sources
How to evaluate your sources
How to get help

Remember you can always ask librarians for help! Contact me or click the Chat with Us link to get immediate help from a librarian.

Librarian

Sarah Brandt

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Undergraduate Studies

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required