LibGuides: UGS 302: Nostalgia and Popular Culture / Beronja: Find Secondary Sources

What does reputable mean?

When you use scholarship in your research, you are contributing to an existing conversation built by a web of citations and references - follow those conversations - check the references in the articles and books you find and see where authors get their evidence.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Little bit of everything - scholarly and popular articles.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR can be tough to search, but it has a little bit of a lot of disciplines and allows you to see references lists for articles easily.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide