LibGuides: UGS 303: Education and Black America / Foster: Find Peer Reviewed / Refereed Articles

Try these databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, newspapers from all fields of study.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
Research articles in the field of education
Updated monthly. Provides a digital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
Also includes more than 107,000 full text non-journal documents indexed by the ERIC database. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database are to ERIC documents. Microfiche copies of ERIC documents, including those prior to 1996, are in the Collections Deposit Library (CDL) Microforms Collection at MCFICHE 4913.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education from early childhood to higher ed - check this one AND ERIC - not one or the other - they contain different articles.
"The collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
EBSCO search tutorials

Search Strategy

Main idea	Group impacted	How impact is measured	Geography
Hair	black or african american	academic achievement	US
clothing	high school	test scores	United States
dress codes	elementary school	GPA
uniforms	girls	graduation
	boys	discipline
	teen or teenager or adolescent	microaggressions

Take a moment to brainstorm keywords based on your developing ideas about your topic. The point is to open up your thinking and to be flexible.

Now try translating into a search. Open in new tab to view larger.

Try a broad search

Library 'all in one' search
Search anything, narrow to materials you want. You will get a lot of results, so brainstorm better keywords to narrow.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
You can use our proxy link to Google Scholar and you will be signed into all the subscriptions. Overwhelming number of articles and lousy advanced search. Not everything is scholarly.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.