LibGuides: UGS 302: When Worlds Collide / Deans-Smith: Scholarly Articles and Books

I'll add to this once I hear more about your topics

Later in the semester, you will start research in these databases. I will check in at that point and see if I can add anything.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Always a good starting point.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Can books be scholarly?

A book can never be peer reviewed. Only articles from academic journals are peer reviewed.

Books are considered scholarly when they are written by scholars. If a book is published by an academic press (one affiliated with a university), that is a good indication that it has scholarly content. There are exceptions, especially in the sciences where there are many publishers that scholars published with that are not affiliated with schools.

Try a broad search

Library 'all in one' search
Search anything, narrow to materials you want. You will get a lot of results, so brainstorm better keywords to narrow.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.