LibGuides: HIS 350R: Civil Rights from a Comparative Perspective: Secondary Sources (Scholarly Journal Articles)

Start Here First

Using the Catalog
Find eBooks

Start searching with the big search box on the library homepage.

It searches most but not all the library's resources and will show results across six different categories: Articles & More, Books & Media, Journals, Databases, Research Guides, and the Library Website.

A more targeted place to search is at the link for Articles & More beneath the search bar.

We also encourage you to explore the other databases and journals we offer since Articles & More doesn't show results from all sources

On the left toolbar in Articles & More, check these boxes for credible & relevant results:

Peer-Reviewed Journals

If you want to narrow even more, try these options to filter:

Resource Type
Subject
Creation Date

Keep an eye on the number of your search results. Start browsing when you feel you have a manageable number of results to skim through.

Not all of our books are available online as ebooks. Here is how to limit your search to only books available online.

Remember that your keyword strategy will need to be broader because books cover broader topics than do articles.

These screenshots (you can open them in a new tab to enlarge) lead you from www.lib.utexas.edu

Step 1:

Use the Books and Media link under the search bar on www.lib.utexas.edu

Step 2:

On the next screen, enter your search terms.

Step 3:

oN the left side, you can limit to items available online

Step 4:

Under each result, there is a link Available Online. Click that.

Step 5:

every publisher link is differently named once you are in the full record

Using Databases to Find Secondary Sources

A significant piece of your final assignment is to include secondary sources that offer analysis and interpretation of the person, event, or movement you are covering through your primary source research. Here are links to databases that contain scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, scholarly books, and book chapters.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
1964 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Covers books, book reviews, journals and dissertations. Also reviews films and video projects. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1955 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new window
1983 - present. Unlimited users.
Brings together book reviews on subjects such as art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, music science & technology and more with coverage back to 1983. Many of the reviews are serious, academic works.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1975 - present. Unlimited users.
Includes more than 49,500 bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
1967 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Contains records for all types of material on Mexican-American topics and Chicanos. Since 1992, the Chicano Database covers material on the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click FIND IT AT UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click GET A SCAN to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.