Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Chemistry

Landolt-Börnstein

LB coverLandolt-Börnstein (LB) is a systematic collection of numerical data and functional relationships in physics, physical chemistry, biophysics, geophysics, astronomy, materials science, and technology. It is a valuable but often overlooked source of reliable physical data. Its full German title is Zahlenwerte und Funktionen aus Physik, Chemie, Astronomie, Geophysik und Technik. The 6th Edition was published from 1950 to 1980, and contains 22,500 pages in 28 volumes. It contains fundamental, well-tested information that is less likely to require revision. In 1961 the extensive New Series began publication, which updates and expands the base set with a focus on solid state materials and semiconductors. Over 400 volumes have been published so far.

Indexes

  • There is a small printed Comprehensive Index for properties in the 6th Edition and New Series up to 1990. The keyword system in the indexes is arranged in four levels of hierarchy. The primary or first keyword generally denotes a physical quantity or constant, or type of material in question. A "(d)" sometimes added to page numbers in the index entry tells the user that data for that keyword are dispersed and not the main focus for the given range of pages. There is also a 3-volume index of inorganic substances and systems through 1993.
  • Hamburg Substance/Property Index
    The University of Hamburg has created web indexes that can be browsed or searched. "This site lists all substances and their properties which are reported on in the indexed Landolt-Börnstein volumes. In total, 160,000 organic and inorganic compounds are described by names, molecular structures, chemical abstract numbers and other identifiers." Not all LB volumes are indexed.
 
SpringerMaterials
SpringerMaterials is an online platform that contains full text of LB New Series content, among other things.  Due to cost UT-Austin is unable to subscribe to this resource, and the useful content is blocked from view. The search options are free, but citations lack page numbers.
 
UT Print Holdings
The Chemistry Library has the 6th edition base set and most volumes of the New Series Groups I-IV and VII up to about 1998. LB is shelved in the reference stacks of the Chemistry Collection. The Physics-Math-Astronomy Library also has the 6th edition and Group VI of the New Series. Group V is at the Geology Library. No volumes published after 1998 have been acquired. LB volumes do not circulate.
 
Obtaining LB Content Not Available at UT
Getting LB content from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan is difficult. Very few libraries have purchased recent printed volumes, and it's difficult to identify them. Requests for copies of chapters or pages need to be precise and less than 50 pages. Obtaining digital content from SpringerMaterials is not allowed via ILL. Contact the Chemistry Library for further assistance.
 
Language
The base set and the New Series up to about 1990 are in German, with English tables of contents in some volumes. LB consists mostly of tables and graphs. A knowledge of common German physical and chemical terms is useful.

New Series

The New Series is divided into subject groups. Each group is further divided into volumes and subvolumes on particular topics. Only pre-1998 volumes are listed here.
  • Group I: Elementary Particles, Nuclei and Atoms
    • General Topics
      • Numerical tables for angular correlation computations... : I/3
      • Electroweak interactions : I/10
      • Shielding against high energy radiation : I/11
    • Nuclei
      • Energy levels of nuclei : A=5 to A=257. I/1
      • Nuclear radii : I/2
      • Numerical tables for beta-decay and electron capture : I/4
      • Q-Values and excitation functions of nuclear reactions : I/5 (a-c)
      • Total cross-sections for reactions of high energy particles : I/12 (a-b)
      • Production of radionuclides at intermediate energies : I/13 (a-i)
    • Elementary Particles
      • Properties and production spectra of elementary particles : I/6
      • Elastic and charge exchange scattering of elementary particles : I/7,9 (a,b1-2)
      • Photoproduction of elementary particles : I/8
      • Electron-positron interactions : I/14

  • Group II: Molecules and Radicals
    • Structure and Molecular Constants
      • Structure data of free polyatomic molecules : II/7,15,21,23
      • Theoretical structure of molecules : II/22(a-b)
      • Molecular constants mostly from microwave, molecular beam, electron spin resonance and sub-Doppler laser spectroscopy : II/4,6,14,19
      • Molecular constants mostly from infrared spectroscopy : II/20
    • Acoustical and Optical Properties
      • Molecular acoustics : II/5
      • Luminescence of organic substances : II/3
    • Magnetic Properties
      • Magnetic properties of free radicals : II/1,9,17
      • Magnetic properties of coordination and organometallic transition metal compounds : II/2,8,10,11,12
      • Diamagnetic susceptibility : II/16
    • Reaction Kinetics
      • Radical reaction rates in liquids : II/13,18

  • Group III: Condensed Matter
    • Crystallography, Structure and Morphology
      • Structure data of organic crystals : III/5,10
      • Structure data of elements and intermetallic phases : III/6,14
      • Crystal structure data of inorganic compounds : III/7
      • Physics of solid surfaces : III/24
      • Epitaxy data of inorganic and organic crystals : III/8
      • Phase diagrams and physical properties of nonequilibrium alloys : III/37
    • Semiconductors : III/17,22
    • Electronic Properties
      • Metals : phonon states, electron states and Fermi surfaces : III/13
      • Metals : electronic transport phenomena : III/15
      • Superconductors: transition temperatures and characterization of elements, alloys and compounds : III/21,27f2
      • Electronic structure of solids: photoemission spectra and related data : III/23
    • Electrical Properties
      • High and low frequency properties of dielectric crystals : III/1,2,11,18,29,30
      • Ferro- and antiferroelectrics and related substances : III/3,9,16,28
    • Magnetic Properties
      • Magnetic properties of non-metallic inorganic compounds based on transition elements : III/4,12,27
      • Magnetic properties of metals : III/19,32
    • Optical Properties
      • Optical constants: refractive indices : III/38
    • Atomic Defects and Diffusion
      • Atomic defects in metals : III/25
      • Diffusion in solid metals and alloys : III/26
    • Spectroscopic Methods
      • NMR data : III/35
      • Nuclear quadropole resonance spectroscopy data : III/20,31

  • Group IV: Physical Chemistry
    • Mechanical Properties
      • Densities of liquid systems : IV/1,8
    • Electrical Properties
      • Static dielectric constants of pure liquids and binary liquid mixtures : IV/6
    • Thermodynamic Properties
      • Heats of mixing and solution : IV/2
      • Thermodynamic equilibria of boiling mixtures : IV/3
      • Phase equilibria, crystallographic and thermodynamic data of binary alloys : IV/5
      • Thermodynamic properties of organic compounds and their mixtures : IV/8
      • High pressure properties of matter : IV/4
      • Liquid crystals : IV/7

  • Group V: Geophysics and Space Research (in Geology Library)
  • Group VI: Astronomy, Astrophysics, and Space Research (in PMA Library)
  • Group VII: Biophysics
    • Nucleic acids : VII/1


The 6th Edition

Volume I : Atomic and Molecular Physics.

  • Part 1: Atoms and Ions (1950)
  • Part 2: Molecules I (Nuclear Structure) (1951)
  • Part 3: Molecules II (Electron Shells) (1951)
  • Part 4: Crystals (1955)
  • Part 5: Atomic Nuclei and Elementary Particles (1952)

Volume II : Properties of Matter in its Aggregated States.

  • Part 1: Mechanical-Thermal Properties of States (1971)
  • Part 2: Equilibria except Fusion Equilibria:
    • Part 2a: Equilibria Vapor-Condensate and Osmotic Phenomena (1960)
    • Part 2b: Solution Equilibria I (1962)
    • Part 2c: Solution Equilibria II (1964)
  • Part 3: Fusion Equilibria and Interfacial Phenomena (1956)
  • Part 4: Caloric Quantities of State (1961)
  • Part 5a: Transport Phenomena I (Viscosity and Diffusion) (1969)
  • Part 5b: Transport Phenomena II (Kinetics. Homogenous Gas Equilibria.) (1968)
  • Part 6: Electrical Properties I (1959)
  • Part 7: Electrical Properties II (Electrochemical Systems) (1960)
  • Part 8: Optical Constants (1962)
  • Part 9: Magnetic Properties I (1962)
  • Part 10: Magnetic Properties II (1967)

Volume III : Astronomy and Geophysics. (1952)

Volume IV : Technology.

  • Part 1: Material Values and Mechanical Behavior on Non-Metals (1955)
  • Part 2: Material Values and Behavior of Metallic Industrial Materials:
    • Part 2a: Principles; Testing Methods; Iron Industrial Materials (1964)
    • Part 2b: Sinter Materials; Heavy Metals (except special industrial materials) (1964)
    • Part 2c: Light Metals; Special Industrial Materials; Semiconductors; Corrosion. (1965)
  • Part 3: Electrical Engineering; Light Technology; X-ray technology (1957)
  • Part 4: Heat Technology:
    • Part 4a: Methods of Measurement; Thermodynamic Properties of Homogenous Materials (1967)
    • Part 4b: Thermodynamic Properties of Mixtures; Combustion; Heat Transfer (1972)
  • Part 4c: Absorption Equilibria of Gases in Liquids:
    • Part 4c1: Absorption of Liquids of Low Vapor Pressure (1976)
    • Part 4c2: Absorption in Liquids of High Vapor Pressure (1980)
Loading

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.