Find summaries, short articles, and descriptions on scholarly topics from vetted encyclopedias and dictionaries. Think "scholarly Wikipedia" (and unlike Wikipedia, you can cite these in an academic paper).
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. A list of sources included in our subscription is available.
Find summary articles and bibliographies on literary critics and theories. It's not always up-to-date, but if you're working with a particularly theory and unsure where to start, this can be a helpful resource.
Updated irregularly. Includes 241 alphabetically arranged entries on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats figures who did not explicitly deal with, but who still deeply affected, literature, literary theory, or literary criticism, as well as figures and kinds of inquiry from other fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography, and there are extensive cross references both within and at the conclusion of each entry. Chronological range extends from Plato and Aristotle to the present, with wide geographical and cultural coverage.
Similar to Gale Virtual Reference Library but specifically focused on literature. Search by the title of a work or by author, and find background information, literary criticism, news/media – all in one place! Only allows three UT users at a time. Please close your browser when you are finished so others can access it.
Updated regularly. Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
Arguably, the best database for research on literature. An index of scholarly articles from top literary journals, produced by the Modern Language Association.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
For help searching the MLA International Bibliography, please see the MLA's video tutorials.
A huge archive of more than 1,000 scholarly journals, covering several disciplines. Has strengths in the humanities and provides full-text content.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.
A large database of humanities and social science journals and includes ebooks from scholarly presses.
Journals: Updated as issues are published. Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, with complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Ebooks: Selected ebook titles from university presses and scholarly societies. All content from the print edition of the book is included in the digital edition. There are no DRM restrictions, and titles are accessible on some mobile devices. For further information, please consult the FAQ.
Use the power of Google's search algorithm just for scholarly content! Go through this library link so that your search results include the FindIt@UT button, which will provide you with the article PDFs through our library subscriptions. Never pay for an article!
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations. Some links to full text ask for payment.
If you use the library link to Google Scholar, you may be able to access subscriptions already paid by the library. If you are off campus, you will be prompted for your UTEID. If you do not use the library link for off campus access, many of these full text sources will ask for payment