Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Geosciences

Stuff about Geosciences

About Us

Walter Geology Library

History

Beginnings

Overview

The origins of the Walter Geology Library, like those of many of the branch libraries at the University of Texas, are clouded by the decentralized nature of the early structure of the University. The Department of Geology (later Geological Sciences, now the Jackson School of Geosciences) began in 1888. Robert T. Hill was invited to Austin by the Regents to start a "School of Geology" with offices in Old Main, where, by 1901, Geology occupied the West end of the Third Floor.

Geology shacks

Geology shacks

 

Old Main

 

The 'Old Main' Building

The 'Old Main' Building

The library began its life as a room with books, journals and maps, occasional and part-time secretarial and student staff and nearly complete control by the faculty, who have continued to be a strong influence. From the time of its creation as a small office collection until the mid-1920's little is known. The collection was sparse, money was always tight, and staffing was erratic at best. In the first existing annual report, from 1926, the supervisor outlines problems that echo down through the decades. The Library was available to students only 36 hours a week, and closed during the summer terms. Typically hours would change every semester based on the schedules of staff. Several days a week, the library would be open 8-10 AM, some days 7-10 PM. The library was usually closed for lunch, except when it opened late and stayed open until 1PM. Most days the library was open from 2-5PM or 3-5PM, and Saturday hours were either morning or afternoon, but no Sunday hours. At that time the school week was Monday to Saturday.

This condition sounds more extreme than it was, since in those days, the Departmental collections worked in cooperation with the University Library, and primarily served the needs of upper division undergraduate and graduate students and faculty, though even in the late 1920's and early 1930's, reports make note of outside users from industry, government and the law. Additionally, it appears that (most) purchasing and cataloging services were provided through the Library. One open question relates to the purchasing code for books, which seems to have been controlled by the Library for many years. Thus, the faculty would gather and determine what they wanted to have acquired, and in most cases, the Library would purchase the materials and provide cataloging for them. In summers, requests for materials from Geology would be handled by staff from the University Library (which, like faculty, also had keys), based on their records. 

There was very poor staffing and records coordination, however, and less security. Early reports are filled with laments of the missing or mislaid materials, poor condition of the shelving and record keeping, and inaccurate circulation or collection holdings information. Each Department made Library arrangements that were pleasing to the dominant faculty voices of the time, and not much is known about their decision making. Faculty and graduate students had keys, and materials would come and go without much oversight. Faculty also generally had office collections, many of note, particularly among the paleontologists, and the whole atmosphere appears to have been both casual and frustrating.

W. C. Hogg

The first Geology Building was constructed under the chairmanship and supervision of Fred Bullard for $343,000 and was approximately 50,000 square feet. It was dedicated in the depths of the Depression in 1933, Greene Laroche & Dahl, architects. This attractive building, now named W. C. Hogg, and housing (among other things) the offices of the College of Natural Sciences, was designed with a terra cotta frieze around it and the legend "O Earth, What Changes Hast Thou Seen?". In discussions with Dr. Bullard around 1987, he described the process of laying out the drawings of vertebrate and invertebrate fossils, crystals, and other image panels for the Northwestern Terra Cotta Company in Denver. The panels, he claimed, cost $1.50 each, and he was sent to Denver to approve the molds and first products. He indicated to me that the rail shipping of the panels was more expensive than the art. During the depression, even these small fees seemed quite extravagant. When the "new" building was built in the mid-1960's, the faculty very much wanted to remove the frieze from Hogg and take it to the new building- it was even said that the rather stark rectangular repeats on that building were designed to accommodate the terra cotta panels, which would have been very odd looking indeed, had the effort succeeded.

In any case, in what is now known as Hogg, the Library was in rooms 214 and 218 on the west end, with an area of about 1,750 square feet. The Alcalde from January, 1934 indicates the library has room for "25,000 volumes, although at present vthe department possesses only about half that number." Users report the stacks were closed to undergraduates - others required stack passes - and all materials had to be paged. The librarian had no office. The reading room was seating only- no typewriters, so students had to sit quietly and take notes, and seating capacity is recalled as 20-35 people.

Geology Building B and shell frieze

Geology Building B (left) and shell frieze (right)

 

Geology Building

With the move of the department to the Geology Building in 1967, the library more than doubled to 10,000 square feet, with for the first time a dedicated space for the map collection. The building allowed the consolidation of the Bureau of Economic Geology, which took the 5th floor (B-5, later changed to 1-6), and the Library was on the third floor, room 302 A-D, at the West end of the building. Professor Clabaugh, the faculty member in charge of overseeing the design, repeated some of the more successful aspects of the old building- large auditorium classroom, library upstairs, etc., and added more shop and lab space, administrative areas for the Bureau staff, and larger and better faculty and graduate student space, but the building was rather industrial in its appearance. At this time, the library was still closed stacks. Graduate students could request a stacks pass and faculty were entitled to a stacks pass and a key. Keys were finally done away with in the early 1980's, when the opportunity to automate circulation led to tighter control of the collection. This collection had a large reading room on the East side of the building, with large windows, the map collection across the North wall, also with many windows, but the long, narrow space was not ideal for map cabinet layout. Thelma's comment was that the map collection looked rather "ratty" when laid out in the new space, but she was glad to get it better organized and stored.

Geology Library stacks (left) and new Geology Building (right)

Geology Library stacks (left) and new Geology Building (right)

 

Librarians and Staff

Early Staff

 

Early Geology Library staff

Early Geology Library staff

Early staff included Mrs. Mae Reeder Nelson, Rubie Vaughn, Arno Wendler, George Harris, Fred Goerner, and Sam Field, all pages and stenographers employed by the Department. It appears that there was at one point a librarian named 'Miss Eckert', who was later praised for her early organizational efforts.

Early UT catalogs from 1915 to 1926 chronicle some of this ambiguity from the Libraries side - descriptions of library staff mention a Nina Pauline Stehr, who is the botany/zoology, or botany, geology, zoology, and then botany and zoology librarian, and about whom nothing is known at this writing. In the 1926 catalog, there is mention in the Library Staff list of Mrs. Mae Reeder Nelson, geology librarian, and Mrs. Nelson is the author of the first extant library annual report from February 1926, though it is produced on Departmental stationary, and Mrs. Nelson indicates she is also the Department stenographer.

"THE" Geology Librarian

The University Library assumed control of the Geology collection in 1940 as part of a larger campus reorganization of library services, and Thelma Lynn (later Guion, when she married an instructor in Classics) came in to provide order, control, discipline and planning, as she did in a number of departmental collections on campus, including, it seems, biology (zoology), music, and chemistry. Thelma left for a time to complete her Master's degree in Library Science at Columbia University, and Mrs. Albert E. Sweeney supervised the collection in 1942 and '43, at which point Ms Guion returned and supervised the Geology collection from the Biology Library. She returned to Geology permanently in 1952, stayed through the move to the current building, and was forced to retire for age reasons in August 1972.

There are many stories about Thelma, who introduced herself to me in 1985 as "THE" Geology Librarian. She was known to be a fierce steward of the library, and protector of her "cherubs," as she preferred to call her student assistants. These students were reputed to have included several Phi Beta Kappa's, but this did not save them from having to pick up discarded soft drink bottles for Thelma to cash in for the deposits to add to the library's acquisitions funds.

Thelma Lynn Guion

Thelma Lynn Guion

 

Dr. Keith Young once told me that he felt his day didn't get off to a good start until he had had an argument with Thelma. This is significant because Thelma's devotion and loyalty to the Department were to have long lasting effects. The strength of the library over the decades has been an outgrowth of Thelma's relationship with several pivotal faculty members. Professors Whitney, Adkins and Sellards, whose initial collecting and scholarship gave early support for strong library collections, gave way to the second and third generations of leadership. These included Sam Ellison, the founding faculty member of the Geology Foundation, Ronald K. DeFord, a strong library supporter both in words and deeds, who was particularly close to Thelma, and Keith Young, long chair of the Geology Library Committee and collection supervisor extraordinaire. Bill Fisher, long head of the Geology Foundation, oversaw huge growth in endowments, and was critical in including library support among his goals. Other involved faculty included Martin Lagoe, Doug Smith, and most recently Chris Bell, who (like Keith Young) also served a term as Chair of the University Library Committee.

Thelma had also a strong impact on students. This was partly due to her close association with Professor DeFord, her stern and frank presence as an information gatekeeper, and the many ways she worked to make the lives of students better, partly by fighting for resources for them. It is even rumored that Thelma personally subscribed to Playboy for the students, to provide them with some diversion from their labors at the New Book Shelf. If so, it may just have been brilliant marketing. In the years before and after her death, visiting alumni, many of whom had been very successful in business, spoke fondly of Thelma, and her impact on their education. This helped draw backing for the endowments that help support the collections today.

Subsequent Librarians

Barbara Chappell became Librarian in September of 1972, and left in January of 1974. She was a UT Library School graduate, and left Austin for Washington, DC, where she eventually became head of the United States Geological Survey's Reston library.

Martin Smith was recruited in October of 1974. He had his MLS from Maryland, and came from the USGS Reston library. He left in December 1981 to return to DC and to Smithsonian and Air and Space Museum, where he worked until his retirement.

Chestalene Pintozzi was the unit's Library Assistant under Martin, and completed her MLS from the University of Texas School of Library and Information Science. She was promoted to the Librarian's position in January of 1982 and stayed until August of 1984. Later she went to the University of Arizona Library, where she was Science and Engineering Librarian and later Director of Project Management and Assessment.

During this 12 year period (1972-84), the Geology Library was suffering from serious space problems. There was no high density storage facility yet, the 'backroom' space was filled to capacity with Bureau surplus materials and unprocessed gifts (which some viewed as dangerous, due to concerns with floor loading). It was a struggle to find resources for new services like GeoRef searching (done at the time at very high cost with a tele-type style machine and a 300-baud phone modem and thermal printer). Everyone was frustrated about some aspect of operations - there was no automated circulation yet, copiers were inadequate and took up too much space, there was no common catalog for the whole library system online, so a great deal of time was wasted walking from unit to unit, or searching in the main library catalog. There was also a student population boom in this period, and space was very a contentious issue. Nevertheless change was coming - by 1984, the Bureau was moving to its new facility, branch materials were being coded for automated circulation and the computer system and catalog were being extended to branch circulation desks, the endowment monies were beginning to make a difference in purchasing options, and the promise of even better computing systems was on the horizon.

Dennis Trombatore came in July 1985 from the University of Georgia, with an MLS from Louisiana State University. He was the beneficiary of many of these developments, and the pace of change began to accelerate.

From left to right: Barbara Chappell, Martin A. Smith, and Dennis Trombatore

From left to right: Barbara Chappell, Martin A. Smith, and Dennis Trombatore

 

Support for the Library

Naming the Library

 

Elizabeth and Joe Walter

Elizabeth and Joe Walter

One of the students that was inspired by Thelma was Joseph C. Walter Jr. and his family. Joe Walter donated $500,000 in 1981 to create a library endowment, and the Walter Library was named after him in 1982.

Funds

In 1977, the library was listed as having three endowed funds: The Whitney Fund for paleontology, the Wendlandt fund for German language or translated German geology materials, and the Map Collection Fund. These funds were all small, $10,000 or less. After the Walter donation, the Map Collection fund was supplemented with funds from the Tobin Foundation in San Antonio, and the Tobin International Map Collection Fund was created. In the latter part of the 1980's during the crash of the energy business, it was discovered that the Walter Fund had suffered losses, and the Houston alumni community raised several hundred thousand dollars to bolster the fund.

 

Tom Barrow

Tom Barrow

At this time Tom Barrow and his family created the Barrow Periodicals Fund to help cover the costs of research serials in the geosciences, focused on energy and related materials. Subsequent to Thelma's death, a staff honors endowment was raised in her honor, which produces enough income to give a cash award each year to one or more people who have provided excellent service or assistance to the Walter Library.

In 2005, the Chernoff family and Carlotta Chernoff (BA 1992, MA 1995) set up the Chernoff Geophysics Fund, to honor Charlie Chernoff for his long career in geophysics. Faculty, staff, and alumni with the help of Mike Wiley (MA 1963, PhD 1970), the Barrow family, and others started the Library Hydrogeology Fund in 2008, and Debra Sue Trinque and others have pledged funds for the Library Climate Studies Fund, which should become available in 2012, bringing the total to 9 funds. Virtually all of this springs in some way from Thelma's early indoctrination of faculty and students to the necessity of support for information resources, and to the dedication and foresight of the faculty mentioned above and the many other faculty and alumni friends who have provided support and materials for the library over the years.

Here's a page from the department newsletter:

Newsletter excerpt

Newsletter excerpt

 

Satellite Collections

Bureau of Economic Geology

Adding to the pool of geologic information after 1909, when the Bureau of Economic Geology was established to succeed the Texas Mineral Survey, was the existence of a separate library under the control of the Bureau. This collection apparently was not part of the library services sharing program, though there was quite a bit of informal sharing of materials. The Bureau, as it is known, has had offices in a number of locations around and near campus.

Peter Flawn recalls that "on the Little Campus in old J Hall, the Bureau Library occupied a large room on the southwest corner of the first floor with perhaps 8 or 10 rows of floor to ceiling shelving that ran north-south. The door was kept locked but all of the research staff had keys. There was no check out system. We all took what we needed at the time and returned the books when we were finished. If what we wanted was missing, we just asked around. In those days, I used Interlibrary Loan a good deal. I don't remember if there was a list of what we had or any kind of catalog."

When the "new" Geology Building was dedicated in 1967, the Bureau occupied the top floor, where it remained until getting a new building in 1984 at the Balcones (now Pickle) Campus in North Austin. It appears from recollections and Thelma Guion's annual reports that the Bureau collection was stuffed into the "new" building's so called "Back Room," GEO 302D, along with duplicates from both collections. Apparently in 1984, these materials were disentangled and in 1984 the new Bureau facility sported a Reading Room / Data Center, encompassing well logs, all of which went to the Bureau at that point.

The Bureau's library is now primarily a current literature collection, recently supplemented by the addition of the library from the Institute for Geophysics. In the late 1980's, after a particularly serious turn-down in the Bureau's research funding, the decision was made to downsize the collection substantially. Most of these materials (several hundreds of cartons) were routed through the Walter Library for review, and many exciting new research materials (and long-lost collection items) were added to the collection. Staff at the Bureau with library connections included Mary McBride, Kay Forward, Roselle Girard, Jeff Thurwachter, Ed Garner, and Sigrid Clift, in whose portfolio it remains today.

Institute for Geophysics

Similarly, the Institute for Geophysics came to Austin from University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston in 1982, beginning a long search for permanent housing. At first they were housed in a small commercial building directly across I-35 from the end of the Mueller Airport runway, and next door to the bus station. The entire building shook vividly and conversations had to be suspended every few minutes as jet engines and plane bellies roared past the upstairs windows where the library was.

The Institute library was based on the collections of Lamar Worzel and Maurice Ewing, founding scientists at the Institute, and Josie York, the librarian at the time, was already fighting space issues. The space she was allocated demanded that materials be squeezed floor to ceiling in every conceivable manner, and access was barely adequate. Over the next 20 years, in a series of inadequate spaces off Mopac and later Steck in NW Austin, the Institute attempted to hang onto its library, but again, over time many hundreds of cartons of materials were routed to the Walter Library to be consolidated with the main collection.

After Josie returned to the Phillipines, the library passed to Larry Cook from 1991-1994, former Library Assistant in the Perry-Castañeda Library map collection, and later to Nancy Gemmell, who migrated to the Institute from Perry-Castañeda Library acquisitions while completing her MLS. After Nancy left to go to work at Austin Public Library, the collection was relegated to a series of Library School (I-School) student interns, and grew and contracted with various special projects being started but rarely finished.

When the Institute finally got a campus property of its own at the Pickle Campus, library holdings were consolidated with the remaining Bureau collection in the Bureau's Information Center. Again, the withdrawn materials were reviewed and consolidated in the Walter Library.

U.S. Geological Survey

In the 1970's and '80's, the United States Geological Survey/ Texas Water Office had a library in the Federal Building downtown. The library was very extensive and packed to the ceiling, which, considering that the library was in the wing that extended over 9th Street, made some people nervous.

The librarians were Charlotte "Rusty" Friebele, who retired around 1977, then Rosemary Tovar (later Jean) from 1977 to 1980. Patricia Tenner, Cynthia Kehoe, Vivian Carlson were in the library for short periods from about 1983 to about 1987. Julie Menard started in the Library as a student in 1987 and left about 1996. The last librarian was Ramona Azbill (later Traynor), about 1996 to about 2000.

The library moved to Cameron Road in 1988. After some years, the Survey moved again to the Cross Park Drive area, and then back to Cameron Road. Before the first two moves, big downsizings took place, with materials coming to the Walter Library for review. After 2000, the library was no longer staffed, and now is primarily a resource room for locally produced publication stocks.

Texas Water Commission

Similarly, the Texas Water Commission (now TCEQ, TNRIS and Texas Water Development Board) once had a large library collection with several librarians in the Stephen F. Austin Office Building near the Capitol. Initially they were on an upper floor, then moved to the basement, then subsequently to the current TCEQ facility off Parmer Lane. The head Librarian there for many years was Sylvia Von Fang, who by coincidence was once married to Martin Smith. Sylvia retired around 2004.

References

Berry, Margaret Catherine. Brick by Golden Brick: A History of Campus Buildings at the University of Texas at Austin, 1883-1993. Austin, Tex: LBCo, 1993.

Elgin, Robert Warren. A Study of the Map Collections in the University of Texas Libraries. Thesis (M.L.S.)--University of Texas, 1954.

Ex-students' Association of the University of Texas. Alcalde. Austin, Tex: Published by the former students of the University of Texas at Austin, 1913.

Moloney, Louis C. A History of the University Library at the University of Texas, 1883-1934. Thesis (D.L.S.)--Columbia University, 1970.

University of Texas at Austin. Newsletter. Austin, Tex: The Dept, 1968.

Young, Keith. History of Geology at the University of Texas. Austin: University of Texas, 1967. (Bureau of Economic Geology. Geological circular GC-67-3)

Joe Walter: An Appreciation

Introduction

Geosciences alumni of the University of Texas from the late 1940's and early 1950's were a remarkable cohort. They were brought up in a Texas transitioning from 'cows and cotton' to industry and petrochemicals. They were forged in the twin crucibles of depression and war, and whether or not they were directly touched by those events, their characters and values were guided by broader historical lessons. They were trained by excellent faculty and mentors to think about geology with precision, preparation, persistence and innovation - particularly the latter. Geology at this time was in the midst of a major transition as well - from an observational to an analytical science, and new technologies (another unintended consequence of war) would soon enable major theoretical and practical breakthroughs.

Joe Walter: Background

Joseph Charles Walter, Jr., or Joe as he was widely known, was a Houston native, the son of Gladys Hoskins and Joseph Charles Walter, Sr., an oil and gas landman, so from a petroleum geology perspective, he started with certain advantages. Born on October 7, 1927, he completed Lamar High School and graduated from UT Austin with a Petroleum Engineering BS degree in 1949, and an MA in Geology in 1951.

His thesis, done under R.K. DeFord, was titled Paleontology of the Rustler Formation, Culberson County, Texas, and identified Permian invertebrates, among which was Derbya sulcata Walter. n. sp., now the image on the bookplate that bears his name.

Combining his petroleum engineering background with a paleontology study demonstrated the acuity of Joe's analytical foresight. It led him to an expertise in both hydrocarbon fluids and the unique rock materials that contain them as specific products of spatial, temporal, and biological processes.

Early Career


Breaking into Oil and Gas Exploration

Joe's career started ordinarily enough, as he did a six year apprenticeship with Jersey Standard/Humble, honing his analytical skills further in evaluating oil reserves - crucial training for his later successes. During this period, he made two significant life changes, marrying Elizabeth Cowden from Midland (BS, UT Austin, 1951), and deciding that he did not want to spend his life behind a desk buried in a huge company.

 

In 1957, after daughter Carol Walter Looke and son J. C. Walter III (Rusty) were born, Joe set up shop in association with his father's business, Houston Royalty Company. Within the span of a few years, Joe Sr. and his partner Irwin Smith died, Joe (Jr.) and his partners bought controlling interest in, and later merged with, Royalties Management Co. from Tulsa. This gave him the capital base to begin his real enterprise - exploration for oil and gas.

Career Success

As detailed by Jack Donahue in "The Finest in the Land", Joe's excellent skills and preparation in assessing reserves served him well. His new company, Houston Oil and Minerals, went public in the late 1960's. After flirting with the refining business, Joe took a long shot on a gas play in the Frio of Galveston Bay and got a big boost, permitting the company to go international. Again, Joe was successful, working the North Sea, Africa, Middle East, South America and Australia, where he got into and out of the coal business. At the same time, writes Donahue, Houston Minerals Corp., a subsidiary, was building the fourth largest mineral position in the US. Meanwhile, the company got into and out of the Baltimore Canyon play without losing money, and the little startup now had five divisions and 1400 employees. Joe Walter, by this time suffering from heart disease, was stuck behind a desk at a big company, and exactly where he did not want to be. In 1981 he arranged a merger with Tenneco, had a heart transplant at Methodist Hospital performed by Dr. Jimmy Howell, and attempted to retire, but within two years, as head of Walter Oil and Gas and president of the Petroleum Club in Houston, he was back making deals.

Beyond Career Life

Between that time and his death June 14, 1997, Joe continued his business interests with Walter International and Walter Oil and Gas International, but he also had time for other pursuits. He has been widely acknowledged as a major force behind Houston's Methodist Hospital and Methodist Health Care system, and St. Luke's United Methodist Church. He loved to hunt birds on his 'farm' near Brownwood; he was an avid woodworker, and, the crux of our tale, a great friend of the University of Texas at Austin. Joe received many honors from The University of Texas, and has given us many as well.

Awards, Honors, and Donations

Joe's University of Texas at Austin Awards and Honors

  • Distinguished Graduate (Engineering) 1977

  • Distinguished Graduate (Geology) 1984

  • Distinguished Alumnus 1985

  • Hall of Honor (College of Natural Sciences) 1995

  • Hall of Distinction (Geology) 2006

Walter Family Donations

  • Seven endowed chairs, professorships, and scholarships in Engineering and Geology

  • Houston Oil and Minerals / Walter Faculty Award

  • JC Walter Jr., and EC Walter Geology Library Endowment

  • Renovation funding for Walter Library from the Walter Family

It is the last two items to which I particularly want to draw attention. In 1984, when the Walter's endowed the Geology Library, the collection was strong, but the worlds of geology, publishing, and academic libraries were poised on the brink of enormous changes. The Walter gift gave the Library the opportunity to reach for excellence and growth at the very time when market forces caused the geological sciences and most university libraries, including The University of Texas, to begin to shrink. 1985-1995 was a hard time for libraries in particular, with prices going up fast, expensive technological developments, constricting budgets, and painful decisions every budget cycle. The Walter's analytical foresight allowed their namesake collection to forge ahead into new thematic areas and wider coverage, and these ambitions drew more resources, particularly from the Barrow family, the Chernoff family, and many alumni who benefitted from this great information resource and wanted to give back.

In 2001, when Jack Jackson's initial gift was put to work to add on to the Geology Building, Elizabeth C. Walter Keeney, Carol Looke and JC Walter III (Rusty) stepped forward again with funding to renovate and refurbish the Walter Library - further positioning it as the earth sciences information source to beat for the 21st century.

So Joe, described by his peers as the archetypal wildcatter, made his own luck one last time, with the quiet foresight and thoughtful generosity that were his trademarks. We who benefit daily from this collection are thankful to Joe, his family, and his friends - our alumni and supporters, for all they have done.

DRT/July 2008

References

Donahue, Jack , 1984. The finest in the land : the story of the Petroleum Club of Houston. Houston : Gulf Pub. Co., 336pp.

Murray, Thomas J , 1974. "The Quiet Wildcatter" Dun's v.103, #6 (June), pp.64-67

Sterba, James P. , 1977 "Houston Oil: a Skyrocketing Wildcatter Comes of age", New York Times , Nov. 6, p.F-3.

Texas Alliance of Energy Producers Presents the Houston Legends honoring J.C. Walter, Jr., Judge E.E. Townes and Herman P. Pressler, Jr. Master of Ceremony Therman Andrews. 11/1/2005, 4pp.

Walter, Joseph C, 1951. Paleontology of the Rustler Formation, Culberson County, Texas. Thesis (M.A.)--University of Texas at Austin. 93pp.

 

Young Joe Walter outdoors

Young Joe Walter

 

Joe's honorary bookplate

Joe's honorary bookplate

 

Joe and his wife Elizabeth

Joe and his wife, Elizabeth

 

The immediate Walter family

Clockwise from L: J. C. "Rusty" Walter III, Joe Walter, Carol Walter Looke, and Elizabeth Walter

 

The extended Walter family

The extended Walter family

 

Joe (center) and colleagues

Joe (center) and colleagues

 

Houston Oil and Minerals logo

Houston Oil and Minerals logo

 

Joe and a shipping container

Joe and a shipping container

 

Walter Oil and Gas announcement

Walter Oil and Gas announcement

 

Joe hunting with family and friends

Joe hunting with family and friends

 

Joe in his office

Joe in his office

 

Joe presenting an award

Joe presenting an award

 

Thelma Lynn Guion: Walter Geology Library Staff Award

Thelma Lynn Guion

Thelma Lynn Guion

A staff honors endowment was raised in Thelma Lynn Guion's honor. This award is given each year to one or more people who have provided excellent service or assistance to the Walter Geology Library.

Winners

2016-17: Katelyn Helberg and Kevaughn Evans

2015-16: Nicole Evans and Dean Wilcox

2014-15: Mandy Lancaster and Laura Mattys

2013-14: Katherine Strickland and Russell Podgorsek

2012-13: Kara Scott and Nicole Raney

2011-12: Ann Marchock

2010-11: Calla Smith-Dowling and Meredith Bush

2009-10: David Melanson and Jennifer Lee

2008-09: Claire Boetticher and Uri Kolodney

2007-08: April DeRome and Caitlyn Lam

2006-07: Amy Baker and Pat Dickerson

2005-06: Angela Kille and Sean O'Brien

2004-05: Vickie Drake and Mabel Torres

2003-04: Margaret Bieneman, Yusliz Sufian

2002-03: George R. Cogswell, Joseph A. Lucas

2001-02: Alice Dewberry and Carol Russell

2000-01: Jeff Newberry and Rebecca Romanchuk

1999-2000: Ann Nelson and Harry Sullivan

1998-99: Jo A. Soto

1997-98: Rosemary Barker

1996-97: Jim McCulloch, Carol Russell, Becky Zertuche, and Dan Mulvihill

Loading ...

Geosciences Librarian

Dennis Trombatore's picture
Dennis Trombatore
Contact:
Walter Geology Library
JGB 4.202
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX 78712
512 495 4680
Website

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.