Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

HIS 350L: Chile: From Revolution to Counterrevolution

Benson Chilean Primary Resources

Benson (and Briscoe) Archival Primary Resources

Some of our classtime was spent looking at documents from some of our archival collections. Here are links to the Finding Aids of our relevant archival collections, in addition to the materials from several of those collections. Don't forget that you can search the Texas Archival Resources Online for other archival materials in archives across the state, including the Benson Latin American Collection.

 

Joyce Horman and Edmund Horman Papers, 1973-

Papers of Joyce Horman and Edmund Horman, wife and father of Charles Horman who was abducted and executed during Pinochet's September 1973 coup d'état in Chile. The Hormans sued Henry Kissinger and Nixon Administration officials over Charles Horman's wrongful death and its concealment.

 

Records of the U.S. Embassy, Chile, Office of George Alonzo Stanford, 1937-1946

Records from the office of George Alonzo Stanford, Assistant Cultural Attaché at the U.S. Embassy in Santiago, Chile, document Stanford's work primarily in 1944-1945 to monitor and report on culteral events, as well as to foster cultural relations between the U.S. and Chile.

 

George Lister Papers, 1887-2004 (bulk 1936-2003) 

The personal and professional papers of George Lister (1913-2004), who served for sixty years as Foreign Service Officer and Human Rights Officer with the United States Department of State. Correspondence, reports and other documents detail his human rights work, speaking engagements and other affairs.

 

Alice Embree Papers, 1962-2013

The Alice Embree Papers, 1962-2013, consist of original material, correspondence, copies of articles, leaflets, newspapers and journals of personal and political history related to civil rights, human rights, anti-war, women’s liberation, and social justice work during the sixties and seventies, and beyond. Her Chilean solidarity efforts are notable for this class, along with Chilean documents in the collection.

Head of Collection Development, Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection

Melissa Guy's picture
Melissa Guy
Contact:
Sid Richardson Hall, 1.110
(512)-495-4591

Librarian for Caribbean Studies

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.