LibGuides: Pharmacy: PHM 388M/188P

Pharmaceutics and Dosage Form Design

Essential Pharmaceutics -- Required textbook used to complete the reading assignments (before class) and for reference during class.
Encyclopedia of Pharmaceutical Technology -- Provides a comprehensive overview of topics relating to research, manufacture, marketing and use of pharmaceuticals.
Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients -- Resource for detailed information on pharmaceutical excipients and inactive ingredients used in drug product design. Could be used as resource for team based "drug product design assignments".
Inactive Ingredient Search for Approved Drug Products -- Search engine for inactive ingredients and excipients used in FDA approved drug products. Provides levels and specific routes of administration for individual excipients. Could be used as resource for team-based "drug product design assignments."
Martin’s Physical Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences -- Provides a comprehensive and in-depth guide to the physical and chemical principles relevant to the pharmaceutical sciences
Orange Book : Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations -- Resource for finding approved drug products and their therapeutic equivalence evaluation. Provides patent information covering approved drug products.
USP-NF Online (United States Pharmacopeia--National Formulary ) -- Resource for seaching quality standards of dosage forms, drug substances, compounded preparations and excipients/inactive ingredients monographs. Provides background knowledge on analytical testing and product characterization. Could be used as resource for team-based "drug product design assignments." Requires user to create a free account. Web browsers supported: MS Edge and Google Chrome. Not functional with Firefox.

NEW! Access instructions for USP-NF

Drug Substances Databases

Use these resources in researching information related to the physical and chemical properties of known drug substances. Could be used as resource for team based "drug product design assignments."

DrugBank.ca -- Physical & chemical properties of known drug substances
PubChem -- Drug properties from National Library of Medicine
T oxInfo.io -- Select HSDB to find physical & chemical properties of known drug substances (Chemical/Physical Properties tab).

Reaxys -- Used for chemical & physical information from published literature. One capability is to obtain experimental properties (logP, melting point, solubility). Hint: 1. Click on names & formulas 2. Check chemical name box 3. Input search inquiry 4. Click on Physical Data

SciFinder -- Database of chemical & bibliographic information; requires initial registration with a utexas.edu email account. Hint: 1. Search using "Substances>Substance Identifier" 2. Click on Experimental Properties, Properties 3. Properties will be listed under value, or go to specific resources

Drug Product Information

Use these resources in researching information related to composition and characteristics of approved drug products. Could be used as resource for team based "drug product design assignments."

Daily Med (package inserts)
Drugdex
Drugs@FDA, product information for approved drug products in the USA
Drugs.com Top 100 Drugs
Lexi-Comp
Martindale : the Complete Drug Reference, enter Micromedex & complete search, choose Martindale entries
Micromedex
PDR.net

Compounding

Art, Science, and Technology of Pharmaceutical Compounding
Compounding Sterile Preparations
IV Compatibility, Trissel enter Micromedex, choose Trissel's tab
King Guide to Parenteral Admixtures, also referred to as Lexi-IV Comptibility
Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations

Pharmacokinetics

Journal Literature

Find a Journal -- to locate an article cited in references of another source

What's a research article?

What's a review article?

What does peer-reviewed or refereed mean?

To search for supporting journal articles in the peer-reviewed literature, use the following databases. Select appropriate keywords or subject headings. Be sure to pay attention to important elements such as journal, date of publication, etc.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status. Authenticating with UT EID will ensure the Findit@UT button is available in search results.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
1907 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Requires users to register with a utexas.edu email account. Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Databases for Pharmaceutics

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides an online curricular resource for pharmacy education. Allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across over 20 pharmacy and medical online references. Includes functional calculators, lab test information, and an integrated drug database.
Users will need to create a free personal account to access the self-assessment tools, create cases & my care plans, and save images. To create a free account, click on the "University of Texas at Austin""drop-down menu in the upper right corner of the Access Pharmacy home page. Click "Login or Create a Free Personal Account." At the bottom of the pop-up window, click on "Create a Free Access Profile" and follow the directions to set up your account.
Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
Full database access. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A drug information application that provides peer reviewed, clinically-relevant information on drugs available in the United States, including off-label uses and dosages, herbal supplements, nutritional products, and new and investigational drugs. Features include drug interaction reports and drug identification searching.
Access to this resource is funded by the College of Pharmacy.
Lexicomp This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users. Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Firefox, and Safari.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to point-of-care information from 13 clinical databases and 4 clinical applications. Databases include Lexi-Drugs, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs, and Geriatric Lexi-Drugs as well as Clinician's Guides to Diagnosis, Internal Medicine and Laboratory Medicine. Clinical Applications include drug interactions, tablet & capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.
MedicinesComplete This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Note: Users might get an error when accessing the site from off campus saying it's unavailable. Removing everything after the base URL and reloading the page should fix the issue.

Provides access to the following drug and healthcare references:
- Dietary Supplements
- Pediatric Injectable Drugs
- Pharmaceutical Excipients
NATMED PRO This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Provides high quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.
PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Service Note: Several users have reported not being able to access the NAPLEX and/or Active Learning Exercises portions of PharmacyLibrary. Unfortunately, this access issue is inconsistent--some users can access the content, some cannot, some can access from on-campus but not off-campus, others can, etc. We are working with APhA to identify the problem. Please report all access issues to Lynn Bostwick. Include screenshots of any access messages you get.
In the meantime, try these steps.
- Always access PharmacyLibrary from this link: http://guides.lib.utexas.edu/db/820
- Sign in to your personal account. If you don't have one, register and create one. You don't have to be a member of APhA to do this.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 25 users.
Updated regularly. Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbook and includes Board Vitals. Stat!Ref is now part of TDS Health.
United States Pharmacopeia and the National Formulary (USP-NF) This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited. Web browsers supported: MS Edge and Google Chrome. Not functional with Firefox.
Requires user to create a free account
Contains pharmacopeial standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements. It is a combination of the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) with monographs for drug substances & preparations and the National Formulary (NF) with monographs for excipients. Dietary supplements and ingredients appear in a separate section of the USP.