Find statistics to map trends.
- International Data Base: from the US Census Bureau
- Statcompiler: Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS)
- Datafinder: From the Population Reference Bureau; good for national and international population data
- Gapminder: Identify trends with visualizations
These sources are good for background knowledge, keyword brainstorming, identifying important names, dates, and events, and narrowing your topic.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library : Searches 100+ subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online : Searches an encyclopedia with entries on sociological terms and concepts written by experts in the field.
Because library resources have to be searched differently than Google, it's best to brainstorm keywords before you start. Choose keywords which represent the main concepts of your topic. Then for each concept, choose a number of keywords, including synonyms and related terms.
Then combine them using AND and OR
Then combine them using AND and OR
- AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words
- OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the words
Example:
OR | demographic transition | AND | birth control |
population change | contraceptives | ||
fertility | birth interval | ||
mortality | abortion |
This keyword tool lets you brainstorm online and send the results to yourself.
Start here: www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Find Articles using Databases
Multidisciplinary:
Multidisciplinary:
- Academic Search Complete : find magazine, newspaper and journal articles on every topic.
- JSTOR : Find scholarly articles from across disciplines.
- Web of Science : Includes scholarly articles from many disciplines.
- Sociological Abstracts : Scholarly literature from sociology and related disciplines.
- MEDLINE : Health database that includes articles from major demography journals.
- POPLINE : Provides worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues, including family planning technology and programs, fertility, and population law and policy.
Start here: www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Library Catalog
- Start with a keyword search to find books on your topic
- Follow useful Subjects to find more books on the topic
- Tip: Search inside books using GoogleBooks and then check the Library Catalog to see if we have the book.
- Zotero How-To Guide
- Annotated Bibliography Info from Purdue's the OWL
- All About Plagiarism
- Undergraduate Writing Center: drop in or make an appointment to visit with a trained writing consultant.
Evaluate Books and Articles - this decision tree helps you evaluate scholarly books and articles for your annotated bibliography.
Contact the course librarian:
Cindy Fisher
cynth@utexas.edu
495-4333
IM a Librarian
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight
Cindy Fisher
cynth@utexas.edu
495-4333
IM a Librarian
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight