logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Architecture Library

Architecture Library
Architecture & Planning Library GRA
Tel: (512) 495-4620

Research tips
  • Keep a research journal, include where you have looked, what you found and how you found it
  • Manage your citations: use EndNote or Zotero - Learn how to use it in this handout!
  • Check out the classes and other services your library has to offer!
Library Session Registration Form
Library sessions will include a tour of the Architecture & Planning Library and tutorial on how to use library resources to find information about your chosen building.  They will be conducted between Wednesday, September 10 and Tuesday, September 16. 
Register for your session here.

We will begin the session with a tour of the library. Please, arrive on time for your session. I will meet your group by the entrance of the Architecture & Planning Library located on the second floor of Battle Hall.
Quick Links
Using scoUT
  • scoUT is UT Libraries’ discovery tool
  • easy and fast interface with a Google-like search box, and a large central index that includes all kinds of content, including books, journal and newspaper articles, theses and dissertations and more
  • remember that many great architecture articles are NOT included in scoUT so, in most cases, you will also need to use other databases like the Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals
  • see scoUT search tips
Finding books

Use the Library Catalog:

  • start with keywords
  • once you find a good title, check the subject headings
  • you can save and/or email titles by using the Save to Clipboard button
  • search tips – truncation (*), phrases (“ “), for more tips see: Advanced Search

Remember: If you can’t find an entire book on your building, try searching the following:

  • architect(s)
  • building type
  • location and/or time period

Then consult the index and or table of contents to determine whether your building is featured.

Finding articles: Indexes and Databaes
  • Choose the right database for your subject
  • Click on: Find It @ UT to determine article availability (online, in print, or Interlibrary Loan).
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art
    Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present and contemporary art worldwide.
  • Oxford Art Online
    Coverage includes architecture from prehistory to the present. Entries include lists of recommended readings, and links to images and related web sites. (Includes The Grove Dictionary of Art)

Find articles from a citation

When you have a citation for a specific article you will need to search for the title of the journal or magazine, the source. Once you find the journal, look for the year, volume and page number in the citation to locate the article.

  • e-journals: from the Research Tools drop down menu choose Find a Journal
  • print journals: from the Library Catalog choose Journal Title
    • current issues are kept in the reading room in alphabetical order
      • you can see the call number next to the title label
    • back issues are shelved at the upper stacks level (level 6) by call number
Find Images
  • ARTstor
    Over a million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures, including architectural drawings. The concistent high quality of the images and information accompanying them makes these a preferred source for images.
  • School of Architecture Visual Resource Collection
    Over 135,000 digital images related to architecture and planning.
  • DASE  
    Digital images, sound, video, and documents maintained by the College of Liberal Arts.