logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Martha González Palacios

Martha González Palacios
Architecture Library - Architecture and Planning Librarian
Tel: (512) 495-4645

Picture: Architecture Library

Architecture Library
Architecture & Planning Library GRA
Tel: (512) 495-4620

Research Tips
  • keep a research journal, include where you have looked, what you found and how you found it
  • manage your citations: use EndNote or Zotero
  • need help with your citations? use Research and Documentation Online - includes sample papers, finding sources and how to document (cite) sources in MLA, APA, Chicago and CSE.
  • check out the classes and other services your library has to offer!
Link to this guide
Databases
  • Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts
    Articles from over 400 leading journals relevant to the international conservation field are abstracted annually. This is a free service of the Getty Conservation Institute in association with The International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works
    • APT Bulletin
    • Journal of Architectural Conservation
    • Journal of the American Institute for Conservation
    • Preservation Tech Notes
  • Ei Compendex (Engineering Village)
    Contains more than 1 million citations with abstracts from more than 4,500 journals, reports and conference proceedings covering fields of engineering and technology.
  • IHS Standards
    To access, select one of the standards in the database list. Once in the IHS, click on IHS Standards Expert.
    Provides electronic full-text of current Standards for organizations such as:
    • ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials)
    • AASHTO (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials)
  • Web of Science 
    Covers more than 12,000 journals in all subject areas. Includes conference proceedings.
    • Materials and Structures
    • JAIC, the Journal of the American Institute for Conservation
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
    • APT Bulletin
    • JAIC, the Journal of the American Institute for Conservation (selected)
    • Journal of Architectural Conservation
  • Bibliography of the History of Art
    Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present and contemporary art worldwide.
    • JAIC, the Journal of the American Institute for Conservation (1977-2007)
    • GCI publications
  • JSTOR
    Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
    • APT Bulletin
    • JAIC, the Journal of the American Institute for Conservation
  • Science Direct 
    Provides access to the full text of more than 1,400 journals mostly published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries.
    • Construction and Building Materials
    • Journal of Cultural Heritage
Organizations and other Online Resources