Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
Subject Specialist
Picture: Architecture Library

Architecture Library
Architecture & Planning Library GRA
Tel: (512) 495-4620

Research tips
  • keep a research journal, include where you have looked, what you found and how you found it
  • manage your citations: use EndNote or Zotero. Learn how to use Zotero in this handout!
  • check out the classes and other services your library has to offer!
Useful resources
United States
  • Primary Sources
    UT Libraries guide with examples and links to primary sources collections.
  • Digital Public Library of America
  • AIA Historical Directory
    AIA Historical Directory helps you locate information about U.S. architects from the 19th and 20th centuries in the AIA Archives and elsewhere. Includes names of all national-level AIA members up to 1978.
    Documentation produced through the programs constitutes the nation's largest archive of historic architectural, engineering, and landscape documentation. Heritage Documentation Programs administers the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), the Federal Government's oldest preservation program, and its companion programs: the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) and Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS). The www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/hh/ is housed at the Library of Congress.
    CRGIS undertakes projects designed to show how GIS and GPS technologies work in the preservation environment. These projects involve methodological approaches, or “How To” reports that introduce best practices, concepts, and field techniques. We publish these on-line in the hope that readers will find them helpful, stimulating, and perhaps the source for their own creativity in adapting these tools to historic preservation.
  • Historical Maps - UT Libraries
    Digitized maps from the Map Collection, includes US cities and a link to historical maps on other Web sites
  • Historical Societies, Public Libraries, and City and State Archives
    Although many of their finding aids are represented in ArchiveGrid, the websites for these organizations offer other relevant information, including digitized documents and links to further sources. Here ares some examples:
Top Indexes and Databases
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
  • PAIS International
    Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues.
  • Environment and Planning
    Provides indexing to four journals devoted to urban planning, research and design: Environment and Planning A, Environment and Planning B: Planning and Design, Environment and Planning C: Government and Policy, and Environment and Planning D. Includes abstracts from 1990 with full text coverage beginning in 2001.
  • Google Book Search
    Searches complete text of books from selected library collections and publishers. Search works just like a regular Google search -- when book content contains a match for selected search terms, Google provides links to it in the search results. Depending on a few factors, Google displays everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations. Some links to full text ask for payment.


  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full text of more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, many same day of publication, including extensive archives for many titles.
  • Austin-American Statesman Archives
    Allows keyword searching of full text of articles since 1989. (The Austin History Center maintains a paper index to earlier years.)
  • Early American Newspapers
    Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published after 1690, such as Dallas Morning News (1885 – 1977).
  • Dallas Morning News Archive - 1885 – 1977
    Provides comprehensive coverage for one of the largest daily newspapers in Texas. Select the link to World Newspaper Archive.
Archives and Libraries
  • ArchiveGrid
    Provides access to collections in thousands of libraries, museums, and archives that have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions.
  • Archive Finder (formerly ArchiveUSA)
    Directory of archives and manuscript collections in the United States with descriptions of a repository's holdings.
  • WorldCat
    Online union catalog describing the collections of thousands of libraries around the world.
Maps and Mapping Tools
  • Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
    The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (PCL 1.306) is a general collection of more than 250,000 maps covering all areas of the world. Many of the maps are included in our Library Catalog. More than 11,000 map images from our collection are also available online. See the map room guide for more information.
  • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
  • Historical Maps - UT Libraries
    Digitized maps from the Map Collection, includes US cities and a link to historical maps on other Web sites
  • Mapping the Humanities wiki: This resource is intended to aid digital humanities scholars who wish to integrate geospatial analysis into their humanist endeavors.
Map making databases [data embedded] (UT users)
  • Simply Map (USA only): An Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.  Printable.
  • Social Explorer (USA only): Interactive thematic maps of historical census data.

Other Relevant Databases

  • Archival Collections and Primary Sources
    You can find this and other lists of databases sorted by type when go to:
    Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases > Databases by Type > Archival Collections and Primary Sources
  • Databases - American Studies
    You can find this and other lists of databases sorted by type when go to:
    Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases > Databases by Subject > American Studies
Find articles from a citation

When you have a citation for a specific article you will need to search for the title of the journal or magazine, the source. Once you find the journal, look for the year, volume and page number in the citation to locate the article.

  • e-journals: from the Research Tools drop down menu choose Find a Journal
  • print journals: from the Library Catalog choose Journal Title
    • current issues are kept in the reading room in alphabetical order
      • you can see the call number next to the title label
    • back issues are shelved at the upper stacks level (level 6) by call number
Finding books

Use the Library Catalog:

  • start with keywords
  • once you find a good title, check the subject headings
  • you can save and/or email titles by using the Save to Clipboard button
  • search tips – truncation (*), phrases (“ “), for more tips see: Advanced Search

Remember: If you can’t find an entire book on your building, try searching the following:

  • architect(s)
  • building type
  • location and/or time period

Then consult the index and or table of contents to determine whether your building is featured.