logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Martha González Palacios

Martha González Palacios
Architecture Library - Architecture and Planning Librarian
Tel: (512) 495-4645

Picture: Architecture Library

Architecture Library
Architecture & Planning Library GRA
Tel: (512) 495-4620

Research Tips
  • keep a research journal, include where you have looked, what you found and how you found it
  • manage your citations: use EndNote or Zotero
  • need help with your citations? use Research and Documentation Online - includes sample papers, finding sources and how to document (cite) sources in MLA, APA, Chicago and CSE.
  • check out the classes and other services your library has to offer!
Link to this guide
Top Indexes and Databases
    • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
      Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
    • PAIS International
      Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues.

    Newspapers

    • Early American Newspapers
      Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published after 1690, such as Dallas Morning News (1885 – 1977).
    • LexisNexis
      Academic Full text of more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, many same day of publication, including extensive archives for many titles.

    Archives and Libraries

    • ArchiveGrid
      Provides access to collections in thousands of libraries, museums, and archives that have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions.
    • Archive Finder (formerly ArchiveUSA)
      Directory of archives and manuscript collections in the United States with descriptions of a repository's holdings.
    • WorldCat
      Online union catalog describing the collections of thousands of libraries around the world.

    Other Relevant Databases

    • Archival Collections and Primary Sources
      You can find this and other lists of databases sorted by type when go to:
      Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases > Databases by Type > Archival Collections and Primary Sources
    • Databases - American Studies
      You can find this and other lists of databases sorted by type when go to:
      Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases > Databases by Subject > American Studies
Other Relevant Resources
Find articles from a citation

When you have a citation for a specific article you will need to search for the title of the journal or magazine, the source. Once you find the journal, look for the year, volume and page number in the citation to locate the article.

  • e-journals: from the Research Tools drop down menu choose Find a Journal
  • print journals: from the Library Catalog choose Journal Title
    • current issues are kept in the reading room in alphabetical order
      • you can see the call number next to the title label
    • back issues are shelved at the upper stacks level (level 6) by call number
Finding books

Use the Library Catalog:

  • start with keywords
  • once you find a good title, check the subject headings
  • you can save and/or email titles by using the Save to Clipboard button
  • search tips – truncation (*), phrases (“ “), for more tips see: Advanced Search

Remember: try some of the following ideas to select your search terms:

  • architect(s)
  • building type
  • location and/or time period

 Use the index and/or the table of contents in books.