- Gale Virtual Reference Library is database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources to help find background information and define your topic.
- CQResearcher: explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Examples include: Fracking Controversy, Space Program, Managing Nuclear Waste, and Domestic Drones.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - This database gathers together viewpoints and information about controversial social issues. Start with a keyword search and click on the Reference tab for background information.
Using Wikipedia for Academic Research - this is a very helpful 3 minute tutorial on using Wikipedia to locate background information.
- Academic Search Complete: A comprehensive and scholarly database containing magazine, newspaper, and journal articles from across disciplines.
- AIAA: full-text access to all AIAA journals and meeting papers from 1963 to the present.
- IEEE Xplore: full-text access to IEEE & IET journals, conference proceedings, & current IEEE standards.
- Compendex: contains more than 11 million citations from more than 5,600 journals, reports and conference proceedings covering fields of engineering and technology.
- Aerospace Database: provides coverage of basic & applied research in aeronautics & space sciences.
- ASME Online Journal: Mechanical Engineering
- SPIE Digital Library: resources for the subject areas of optics, photonics and imaging.
- OnePetro : Petroleum Engineering
- Scifinder : Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
- Pubmed : Biomedical Engineering
No full-text? Click the button to see if it is available in another database or in print in the library.
**Tip: If the full-text isn’t available try a Google search with the title of the article in quotes. This tends to work with government sponsored research agencies i.e. NASA, but not with proprietary material such as journals and conference proceedings.
Choose keywords which represent the main concepts of your topic. Then for each concept, choose a number of keywords, including synonyms and related terms.
Some terms are more common in the scientific literature (i.e. hydraulic fracturing) while others are more often used by the general public (i.e. fracking.)
A good place to look for alternative terms is under the subject terms:
- "water supply"
- "water pollution"
- "industrial wastes"
- "groundwater pollution"
- "fracturing fluids"
- "injection wells"
- "shale gas industry"
- To find a book on your topic, start with a keyword search.
- When you find a good title, follow the subject headings for more books on the topic.
- To locate the book, make sure you write down the entire call number, including the library that owns it.
- When you find the book, browse other books in the same area for similar resources.
Peer-reviewed (refereed) Publications
- letters to the editor,
- new briefs,
- review articles,
- book reviews
Exercise: Look up the following titles in Ulrichsweb to determine if they are peer-reviewed.
Hint: The database uses a referee's jersey icon to indicate if the journal is refereed (another term for peer-reviewed).
- Materials Today
- Geophysical Research Letters
- The Futurist
Engineering Library - Science Instruction Librarian
Tel: (512) 495-4646
- AIAA - citation style starts on page 4.
- IEEE - EE majors
- ACS style guide - chemical engineers
- SPE - petroleum engineering; citation style starts on page 52
- ASCE citation style - civil engineers
- ASME - mechanical engineering
- NLM (National Library of Medicine) - biomedical
- Engineering Library > Finding Information: lots of online research guides to help find various types of engineering information.
- NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
- Ulrichsweb - helps identify if a journal is peer reviewed (also known as refereed.)
- Evaluate Books and Articles - this decision tree helps you evaluate scholarly and non-scholarly books and articles
- InterLibrary Services Borrowing: will obtain books, article photocopies, and other material not owned by the University of Texas libraries. Check out this 3 minute tutorial on using Interlibrary Services.