logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Get Help
Contact the course librarian:

April Kessler
April Kessler
UTBusinessLibrarian@lib.utexas.edu
Business Library Chat
News
  • BizJournals : Local business news and in-depth analysis from 40 business journals titles from around the U.S.
  • Business Source Complete : Journal, trade publication and magazine articles covering all aspects of business.
  • Factiva : Newspapers and trade publications from around the world - includes the Wall Street Journal and Financial Times.
  • FT.com:  Create your McCombs account to get FT.com content on your devices.
Public Company Financials
  • Mergent : SEC filings, 15 years of financials.  Allows you to create custom company comparison reports.
  • Thomson ONE : Company overviews and comparables.
Resume writing and interview prep
Use search box below to look for books and ebooks on resume writing and interview preparation.

Simple and broad searches work best: interview questions, resume.
Book Search
Search for in
Career Resources
  • MBA Career ManagementCareer advising and workshops, assistance with resumes and cover letters, and information about recruiting events.
Find Companies
  • ReferenceUSA : Helps you create company lists that fit your career criteria.  Here is a video detailing how to make a custom company list using ReferenceUSA.  ReferenceUSA also contains job postings from Indeed.com.
  • Uniworld Online : Contains directory information for foreign companies operating in the US and American companies operating abroad.
  • Book of Lists : BizJournals' Book of Lists provides lists of top companies by city, according to different criteria.  This is a good resource if you're looking in a specific city.
  • Mergent : Advanced international company search.  Here is a video that will show you how to make custom lists of companies by industry and country.
  • Capital IQ: Screen for companies based on 100s of items, view top companies in an industry.  MBAs should have recieved an email with login information for Capital IQ. REMINDER: Access is for academic purposes only and cannot be used for commercial endeavors.  Access is monitored and any misuse can result in your account being suspended.
Industry Overviews
Industry overviews are great for interview preparation.  These resources will help you find competitors, industry news, recent mergers & aquisitions, and more.
  • MarketLine Advantage : Includes detailed company and industry reports with analyses of company strengths and weaknesses.
  • FirstResearch : Contains industry reports with information on recent developments, industry trends and forecasts, and interview preparation questions.
  • Thomson ONE : Company overviews, news, financials, comparables, and investment bank reports. You must use Internet Explorer.  Here is a video explaining how to find investment bank reports in Thomson ONE:
Consulting
Websites
  • Association of Management Consulting Firms: Oldest and largest organization that represents management consulting firms. Twenty percent of members are international. ACMF members employ over 55,000 management consultants in over 100 countries. A list of these members can be found on this site.
  • Consulting Magazine: Contains breaking news about consulting firms as well as information about consulting careers. It provides rankings for best firms to work.
Books/eBooks
  • Consultants & Consulting Organizations Directory: Guide to more than 26,000 firms and individuals in the field of consulting. Contains the following indexes: geographic, consulting activities, and consulting firms.
  • Plunkett’s Consulting Industry Almanac: Contains trends, industry trends analysis, statistical tables and an industry glossary. One page profiles of over 250 top consulting industry firms, including addresses, phone numbers and executive names. Library eBook.
Entrepreneurship
Databases
Private Equity Info: Information on private equity firms, their investment interests, portfolio companies, and professional biographies.
  • Search private equity firms by acquisition criteria and industries of investment interest
  • Keyword search biographies of PE professionals
  • Search the business descriptions of portfolio companies
Websites
Finance
Databases
  • Private Equity Info: Database of private equity firms, their investment interests, portfolio companies, and professional biographies. Also includes directories of Hedge Funds, Mezzanine Investors, M&A Advisory firms and more.
  • Thomson ONE: Database includes recent M&A activity as well as latest investment bank deals.  Learn how to locate deal activity in Thomson ONE:
Websites
  • CFA Institute: Certified Financial Analyst Institute offers membership directory and career resources to members.
Books
IROM
Websites
  • Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals: CSCMP is a professional organization with 9,000 members. Their site also contains job listings (under the Careers tab).
  • Operations Research Professional Directory: This site contains a directory of companies offering operations research services. There is also a link to the job placement service of the Institute for Operations Research and Management Science (INFORMS).
  • Project Management Institute: The leading project management association and has over 260,000 members. Members have access to job postings, salary surveys, and a virtual career coach.

Books
Marketing
Databases
  • RedBooks: Includes detailed profiles of nearly 13,500 U.S. and international advertising agencies as well as information on over 24,000 U.S. and international advertisers who spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Contains advertising job listings.
  • Mintel : Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. You must create a profile using your McCombs email address (@mccombs.utexas.edu) to access Mintel.
Websites
  • American Marketing Association: This site contains job listings, industry information, and a Marketing Resource Directory, which lists companies that provide marketing services. You can search this directory by keyword, company name or geographic location.
  • Association for International Product Management: AIPM is the world’s largest association of product managers, brand managers, and product marketing managers. The Careers section of their site contains job listings for such companies as Apple and Comcast.
  • Direct Marketing Association: Contains industry information and job listings. Job postings can be found under the Resources box on the right side of the page. The Resources box also contains a link to the Direct Marketing Vendor Search, which contains a list of companies that provide marketing services.
  • GreenBook: Search a worldwide directory of marketing research and focus group companies and services online. The Job Center is a Marketing Career Network partner and allows you to search openings and post your resume free of charge.
Books
Real Estate
Databases
  • Private Equity Info: In addition to the Private Equity database, Private Equity Info also includes a database of over 700 Institutional Real Estate Investors that you can search by location and/or investment focus.
Websites
Books
  • Plunkett's Real Estate & Construction Industry Almanac: Provides detailed trends analysis and statistics of all facets of the real estate and construction industry, including architecture, engineering, hotels, housing, property management, finance, operations, mortgages, REITs, brokerage, construction and property development. Includes profiles of over top global 400 firms, public and private.
Non-Profits/CSR
Websites
  • Chronicle of Philanthropy: A top news source for non-profits; also contains job postings.
  • Foundation Center: A comprehensive database of U.S. grantmakers. Follow link to PND and then to Jobs.
  • GuideStar.org: Contains information on over 1.7 million nonprofits.
  • Corporate Responsibility Officer: This site contains links to Corporate Responsibility Reports from major U.S. and international firms.
  • Sustainable Business: Contains a list of the world’s top 20 sustainable business stocks selected by leading sustainability stock analysts, news about sustainable businesses, and job listings.
  • The Global 100 Most Sustainable Corporations in the World: These companies were selected by Corporate Knights Inc and Innovest Strategic Value Advisors based on their ability to manage environmental, social, and governance factors impacting their business.
  • Dow Jones Sustainability Indexes: Global indexes for tracking financial performance of sustainability-driven companies worldwide.
  • CorpWatch: Monitors companies in various industries to advocate for corporate responsibility.
Books
Venture Capital & Private Equity
Databases
  • Private Equity Info: Database of private equity firms, their investment interests, portfolio companies, and professional biographies. Search private equity firms by acquisition criteria and industries of investment interest. Keyword search biographies of PE professionals. Search the business descriptions of portfolio companies.
WebsitesBooks