logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Find Background Information
Concise entries on topics, sometimes including bibliographies of primary and secondary resources for further study. Good for background information, definitions, comprehensive testing (“comps”).   

Start here
:  www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases

 

Find Books - Library Catalog
Start here: www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Library Catalog

  • Start with a keyword search to find books on your topic.
  • Follow useful Subjects to find more books on the topic.
  • Limit by date/s, languages, material type (for example, ebooks), library location.


Interlibrary Loan - if we don't own it, ask us to get it for you. We'll borrow it from another library and lend it to you. Set up a free account. No charge, no limit. 

Database, indexes, abstracts to articles:
Covers articles in journals, magazines, and (sometimes) books, frequently by discipline or topic.  

Start here: www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases 

  • Academic Search Complete – journal, magazine, and newspaper articles from across disciplines.
  • Dissertations and Theses: Full Text - Check your future dissertation topic, your faculty advisor/s, mentors.
  • Lexis/Nexis - Cross disciplinary, strong in newspaper coverage but also some scholarly.
  • OCLC/ WorldCat - The WORLD of library catalogs, useful for obscure citations especially conference proceedings.
  • Web of Science - “Citation Index” (who "cites" whom in a footnote); also useful in some disciplines to search by topic.
  • Google Scholar – Best to access from the library’s Find Articles Using Databases page.  Can also be useful for finding "who cites whom".


Databases by Subject: Choose an academic discipline to see a list of databases relevant for that field. 
 
Where is the article?
If the article isn't in the database you are searching, follow the button to see if it in another database or in print in the library.
If there is no button, look up the title of the journal (not the title of the article) in the Library Catalog journal search. Use both boxes for a complete search.

We don't have the article in the Libraries!
No worries.  If you find something interesting that UT doesn't own, get it for free through Interlibrary Loan.
Using scoUT
  • scoUT is UT Libraries’ easy and fast interface with a Google-like search box, and a large central index that includes all kinds of content, including books, journal and newspaper articles, theses and dissertations and more;
  • see scoUT search tips



Citing Works
Style Manuals, a sampling:
 
 
Cite Your Sources:  A grid to help you choose the right citation tool and help using them.  Includes information about NoodleBib, which helps you format APA, MLA and Chicago style bibliographies you can download as Word documents and turn in.
Get Help
Call or Visit a Campus Library
Hours vary

Contact a Subject Specialist for in-depth queries; schedule one-on-one appointments.

IM a Librarian
Mon-Thurs, 10am - midnight
Fri, 10am - 4pm
Sun, 6pm - midnight

Information for Graduate Students




Subject Specialist
Picture: Robyn Rosenberg

Robyn Rosenberg
Engineering Library - Science Instruction Librarian
Tel: (512) 495-4646

Picture: Shiela Winchester

Shiela Winchester
Classics Library - Head Librarian and PCL Reference Librarian
Tel: (512) 495-4254